Futurism logo

Ad Astra Per Aspera 2

Survivor Chapter 2

By Deon BurtonPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
1

I look down at the battered and bloodied M90. Surprisingly metal rifles weren't all that durable. After about 440 sum rounds, I caught a double feed. Unfortunately, I didn't get a chance to clear it, so I decided to use it as a Louisville slugger instead and either beat my enemy to death or get beaten to death. I toss the rifle to the side and collapse exhaustedly against one of the native lifeforms' lifeless carcasses. I still had the 7.57 Signa Sidearms on both my hips and had yet to use them. I would probably regret it, but I decided to bring the Rocket Launcher, and Chain gun. I highly doubted two 7.57-millimeter rounds would do anything if I ran into anymore of the serpentine like creatures that littered the desert area around me.

I’d rather die knees deep in combat than with something that gave me no chance. I sit up and walk back to the ship. I collect as much rations as I can plus ammo and start to make my way in the direction of the crashed/landed Huntsmen that shot down the strange ship. I activate the emergency beacon and leave a small note with my identifier, and intended direction taped to the beacon box so whoever (hopefully a friendly unit) found it would know where to search next. That way if I’m not able to get off this seemingly God forsaken planet with the Huntsmen then I would just have to wait for rescue or another signal. As you’ve probably assumed from the name the Huntsmen sole purpose is that. Hunting. It’s cargo/lodging bay is designed to allow up to five people to live relatively comfortably while out on long drawn-out bounty missions and such. That being said up to ten people could live in it if the situation dictated it.

“Well, no point in pissing around. The ship ain’t gonna find itself.” I mutter to myself after doing one final check to make sure I had everything I would need to sustain me. [Tink, tink]. I pat one last time and place my hand on the scanner and it hisses shut. Thus began my journey into unknown abyss. I was honestly kind of surprised when I got to what seemed to be this planets forest equivalent area and not a single creature had attempted to kill me. I pull the vibro blade from my ankle and start to check my Space Adaptabing Radar and Homing pad or S.A.R.A.H on my left wrist. It basically gave me all the information I would need when landing on a new planet and I would use that to plan accordingly. ~~NORTH, GRID UNKNOWN, ALT 404 METERS, O2 = 32%, N2 = 81%, Ar = 2.1%, Other Gases 1%. ~~ “Huh, that’s why I can breathe. It’s just slightly higher than Earth.” I mutter ignoring the other stats.

I then slice a “N” into what I assumed to be the tree and continue into the forest while marking as many trees as possible with a “N”, “E”, “S”, “W”, “NE”, “SE”, “SW’, and “NW”. As I hiked through the semi-thick forest a realization hit me. It was kind of quiet... too quiet. Maybe it was different on Earth, but I remembered learning that if the forest was deathly quiet then there was a major predator nearby. Even though the rule was Earth based I still keep the thought in the corner of my mind and spool the chain gun every other minute so it would be ready to fire if necessary.

“Fuck, I really wish I had a map.” I tell myself. I had S.A.R.A.H running but without a satellite all she could really do is map my immediate area up to 25 meters which only really helped me if I intended to return to the first Huntsmen, which I most definitely did not intend to do. So, I continue my march forward still spooling the chain gun just in case. I had long lost track of time by the time I realized the sun was setting. I once again mumble disgruntledly to myself and begin seeking a place to take shelter. After roughly a half hour I give up and just set up camp at the base of a thick tree. I take three mouthfuls of food and to drinks of my water. I didn’t know how far or long it would take to get to my people, but I need to conserve my resources for as long as possible just in case of the worst-case scenario that I don’t find them, or the Huntsmen had been scuttled.

I do one last parameter check and decide to gamble on sleep. Nothing had threatened me so far and even though I didn’t want to get complacent I needed rest to get through the day. So, after determining not had or was following me, I put on the GT-5R Standard battle helmet that I currently wasn’t using due to it narrowing my vision and listen to the hissing of it sealing to the suit. I tether my weapons and gear to my leg and arm just in case something sneaks past me and tries to scoop it. I close my eyes and let sleep take me as my eyelids offered no resistance and before I knew I was gone.

I try to squeeze my eyes tighter shut as the morning rays hit me and fill the helmet. I pull myself up and realize immediately I made a mistake because my entire body was screaming. I felt like I had been hit by a cruiser or something. I look down and see my gear still tethered and accounted for. I nod satisfied and untether it. I walk a short distance away and relieve myself. I walk back to the gear, re-equip it and continue my journey. As I’m walking, I happen upon another river. I once again gamble and drink from the fastest moving part. I drink enough to where I think it’ll hold me over and wait around for bit to see if I get sick or anything. After roughly 15 – 20 minutes I shrug it off as safe and take another couple of sips before continuing on.

Soon the daylight once again starts to fade so I find another spot at the base of a tree and repeat the same process as yesterday. Once again it seemed like nothing was or had followed me but keeping paranoia on my side, I tether my gear to myself once again and fall asleep. I roll my head to the side as the sun once again fills my helmet. S.A.R.A.H had apparently collected enough data to determine that 1 day was roughly 29 hours. 17 hours was daytime and 12 hours for the night. It made sense as to why I felt I slept longer than usual. After doing what I needed to do I once again continued through the forest.

After about three hours in the forest starts to descend and begin making my way down. Roughly halfway down I notice a faint black smoke trail reaching out from what looked like the next mountain side. So, while still being cautious I hasten my speed and descend down the slope.

science fiction
1

About the Creator

Deon Burton

Marine turned aspiring author looking to find his niche in storytelling.

I also want to improve myself so some feedback would be wonderful.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.