Futurism logo

A Universe Within A Universe

Into the Blackhole

By Christina ShislerPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like
A Universe Within A Universe
Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say. I know better though. 13 years, 2 months, and 21 days ago, I watched helplessly, as my mother got sucked into the endless abyss of a blackhole. The blackhole appeared, and in a nano-second she was gone. The life-shattering, universe vacuum disappeared within a couple seconds, but I could hear my mother's cries for help for almost a minute afterward. It sounded like she was still by my side at first, then slowly fading away into nothing.

That is why, ever since I lost my mother, I have been studying blackholes. Science was my passion before, but now it my obsession. My team and I have made life changing progress on everything that includes space, but if today goes the way I hope it does, I will find out what is actually inside a blackhole, and what a blackhole does. We have tirelessly, for the last seven years, creating a shuttle that can withstand the magnetism of a blackhole. Today will be the first time anyone has ever tried to purposely enter a blackhole.

"Okay, today is the day we make galactic history!" I shouted to my team. "We are going to throw ourselves straight into Blackhole 1547! Years of testing! Years of trial and error, we have finally created a ship that will hold against the extreme magnetism of a blackhole! Let's load up, and set forth into the unknown!" I yelled in excitement. There was a bunch of yelling, hollering, and jumping up and down all together in return from my team.

Most of my team were actually my mother's old team. Tom, with his grizzly beard, red hair and green eyes, is the best mechanic I have ever known. If he can't fix it, then it cannot be fixed. He was also my mother's best friend.

Crystal, my partner in crime, is my fellow scientist. She was by my side the whole time, helping me create the shuttle. We have been inseparable since we were infants. As we grew together, so did our bond. She is my best friend. My sister. She is Tom's daughter, and you can tell. She has the emerald eyes and red hair. She keeps it fairly short though because of how thick it is. Their personalities are polar opposite though. Tom is quiet, calm and collected. Crystal is loud, sarcastic, and short-tempered. She is not the person to piss off.

My pilot, Jord, was also the pilot for my mother. That short, ball of energy is the only one I would trust to steer into a abyss of nothingness. We also call him the Green Monster. My mother found him on the planet, Yardithia, which had so much radiation on it, it gave Jord a green glow.

Lacey, my co-pilot, is from the planet Pardith. We landed during a galactic war to aid the families on the planet. I found Lacey a breath away from death, with the rest of her family already gone. I was able to bring her back to health with some help. When she woke, she told me she was flying her ship with her family, trying to escape to a neutral planet, when she was ambushed by a group of Glorithians. After she found out that her family was dead, she decided to join us.

Stomp, my medic, we also found on Pardith. He was aiding the hurt and injured when I carried Lacey to him, to help ne help her. After caring for her for so long, they just became a family of their own. He didn't have any family, and she lost all of hers, it was like it was meant to be.

Tom came forward, wrapping his arm around me into a half hug and said, "Merry would be so proud of you and everything you have accomplished. I hope you know that Sammy."

My mom, Meredith, hated her name, so she always went by Merry. I pushed my brunette hair behind my ear, (the same as my mom's) and replied, "I really hope so," as I stared at the big, italic letters, "MERRY" on the shuttle.

We loaded into the shuttle and strapped in. "Are you ready Jord?" I asked.

"Hell yes!" He shouted.

"Then get this kitty purring, and get us to that blackhole before it disappears!" I replied in excitement.

The anxiety and excitement put a massive amount of butterflies in my stomach. As we got closer the worse it got. I clenched my fists, starting to worry if I was about to kill us all.

Crystal, knowing I was internally freaking out, whispered, "There is no backing out now."

"I know," I muttered.

We were only a lightyear away, and I could already feel the magnetic pulse sucking us in even quicker.

"Okay, here is the moment of truth!" Jord yelled. Tom leaned forward and gripped his seat. "What? Are you afraid Tom?" Jord laughed.

"Just because you can survive a massive amount of radiation and God knows what else, doesn't mean the rest of us are invincible." Tom snapped back.

"Okay, let's just focus on getting through this alive," Stomp said, as we got closer and closer to the opening of the blackhole.

The shuttle began to start shaking, as if we were hitting massive turbulence. The next thing I know we were sucked right into the massive vacuum. My head got sucked back to the headrest of my seat. I shut my eyes in fear, afraid of what would come next. All of a sudden, it felt like we came to a complete stop. I slowly opened my eyes, and I was dumbfounded by what I saw. There was colors of every kind, purples, blues, greens, pinks, yellows, and so much more. I saw stars and moons everywhere. There was water and land. Plants and animals I have seen, and some I have never heard of. To put it short, it looked like the whole universe was sucked into a small, breath-taking planet.

"That is outstanding," Crystal whispered in awe.

I was barely able to muster an, "Uh-huh," as a reply, my breath taken by the beauty of it all.

Lacey, who normally doesn't say much at all, told us, "The Merry is showing there is enough oxygen to breath without our suits."

"We are still going to were our suits, we don't know if there is anything out there in the land or air that would be toxic to us," I said when I was able to come back to my senses.

"Sammy is right," Tom said, "We don't know what is out there."

"Let's get our testing equipment, our suits, and do what we came her for, to find out what is in a blackhole," I said with excitement in my voice.

Once we had our suits on and gathered up our equipment, we met up at the airlocked door, just staring at it, like it would attack us if we touched it.

Finally Jord shouted, "Are we just going to stand there like a bunch of idiots, or is someone going to open that door?"

I moved forward and pulled the handle. I heard the click of the lock unlocking, and pushed the door open. I slowly stepped forward into uncharted territory. I pulled my high-tech camera out and started taking photos. My team didn't waste one more second of time. Crystal took out the test tubes to take sample of everything she could. Everyone else started grabbing a handful of test tubes and set off in different directions.

I kept moving forward, past trees, blue and purple vines, moss, and so much vegetation I have never seen before. Photo after photo, it wouldn't matter how many I took, it would never be enough. I bent down to take a photo of what I thought might have been some sort of an insect, when I heard a snap of a twig behind me. While I was standing back up and turning around I started to say, "You guys know I hate it when..." but when I lifted my head up and saw what I saw, I could not speak or breath. I was in shock, it was not possible. I realized I was not breathing and gasped for air. The last word I said before I fainted was, "Momma?"

extraterrestrialfantasyscience fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.