Futurism logo

A Loverless Fate - Entry 2

— assumptions.

By Ainsley ElainePublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
A Loverless Fate - Entry 2
Photo by shade jay on Unsplash

Today’s May 4th. I set out absentmindedly without checking today’s weather, and surprisingly, this lack of choice improved my day. When I went outside, it was an unusually beautiful day with a clear, blue sky and warm weather. I wore a pastel, floral dress with puffed sleeves as well as white, platform sandals and a mustard yellow, designer bag. This outfit was the perfect choice for the weather I went out to and looked really cute.

Anyway, I walked to the workshop Melka had told me I should come to, and I arrived 15 minutes early.

“What is this strange sight?” said Melka.

“What do you mean?” I said.

“Well, normally you come in here with a jacket over pajamas. I thought you didn’t have much money or something.”

I roll my eyes. “Melka, I actually dress nicely if I’m not running to pick a couple of things up. You just only see me when I’m picking a couple of things up.”

“I don’t know why I was giving you discounts for then.”

“You were giving me discounts?? I’m one of the last people who need a discount,” I laugh. The store bells ring.

“I realize that now. I’ll be sure to charge you extra from now on.”

“Melka, are you trying to cheat this woman out of her money?” says a deep man’s voice.

“Ah, Phillip, you came? And no, she was cheating me out of money because she dressed so poorly I kept on discounting her purchases. I’m just taking back the donation she didn’t need.”

“What do you normally wear?” he asks me.

I turn around to answer and to put a face to the voice and name given, but then I’m bewildered looking at the very same man who had insulted me days over. All I can say is “you?” questioningly.

He looks a little taken aback and quickly composes himself. He says, “Ah, nevermind. No need to explain. I’ve already seen what you wear.”

“So Phillip, you’ve already met Boa?” said Melka confused.

“This is the girl who I told you about who crashed into me,” he said haughtily.

“Hmm, so the one I said you should apologize to if presented the chance?” said Melka while smacking in the back of the head.

“Ow! Hey!” he said.

“Is she?” said Melka.

“Well…” he said and continues muttering “she may be that person.”

“Well, apologize then,” she said firmly.

He straightens himself and says, “I am terribly sorry for my insolent behavior the other day. I should have conducted myself more gentleman-like, and I will do my best not to be so foolish in the future.”

I smirked and said, “Are you sure I’m not causing you trouble?”

“Not at all,” he says.

“Hmm, well thank you for the apology.”

“Is this up to standard for apologies? I wouldn’t know; I don’t have much experience in these matters” he says to Melka.

“Yes, and the only reason you don’t have experience is because of your own arrogance. It’s certainly not from a lack of needing to,” said while hitting him in the back.

“Whatever,” he says annoyed and grumpy.

I laughed and said, “So Melka, is he your grandson or something?”

“Something like that,” she said and continued, “I’ll have you know I practically raised this boy, and he is so stubborn the manners I drilled into him aren’t apparent.”

“Quite the disappointment I guess?” I said.

“Oh no,” she says looking pensive. “He actually is a good human once his icy heart is melted.”

“Sounds like a challenge,” I laugh.

“Why would I let just anyone see my heart? It would get hurt repeatedly,” he says as Melka sneaks away to great other incoming participants.

“I suppose there’s no need for you to. I’m sure your little-miss-perfect is waiting just around the corner.”

He frowned, “She doesn’t exist.”

“Oh.”

“What I meant to say is she doesn’t exist anymore,” he coughs.

“Is that really true? Or are you just saying that, so I don’t shame you?”

“What do you mean?” he says nervously.

I take his hand and put my left into it. He looks down at it and back at me sadly. I said, “I’m —”

“I know. Me too,” he whispers and gently lets go of my hand. “I’m really sorry about the other day. I just assume that people are —”

“Me too,” I say. “I’ve never met someone like me.”

“Oh?” he says surprised. “Well, there’s somewhere I ought to take you then. Give me your hand.” I reach out my hand and he writes a phone number on the inside of my left middle finger. “It’s mine,” he says. “Give me a call sometime. There’s something you’ll want to see.”

I smile and nod. “Okay,” I say quietly like it’s a secret. Those moments were so special and unlike anything I’ve ever experienced. I wanted to cry, but I didn’t. I felt so soft, so mellow and bittersweet.

He walks away and takes a seat for the workshop, and I walk over to a table far from his and take a seat. The workshop begins, and I’m grouped with some 30 year old moms. I couldn’t focus the whole workshop, and I kept sneaking glances at Phillip. I’m not entirely sure why I was; I think I just had become very curious what kind of person he was. He seemed like everything in his life was just right at first, but the more I thought about our interactions, the more his behavior made sense. As the workshop neared its end, it started downpouring very, very heavily. “Great,” I mutter. “The one day I don’t bring my umbrella.”

The workshop ends, and I slump a little in my chair. Phillip walks over, and says, “Did you not bring a brolly?”

“No,” I say. “I gave mine to a stranger.”

“What if that stranger walked you home?”

“Hmm, I trust Melka, so I suppose that would properly make up for your having taken my umbrella.”

He laughed and said, “Let’s go.” He began to guide the way and stopped and said, “I suppose I don’t actually know where I’m going.”

I laugh and take the lead. We walk quickly huddled under the clear umbrella until we make it to my apartment. “This is the building,” I say.

He looked surprised and said, “I take back my words; Melka can charge you all she wants.”

I laughed and said, “I spent my time working hard out of need, and I got lucky to be skilled at a career.”

“I thought only old men and rich kids lived in places like this. It’s surprising to see someone self-made here.”

“I’ll take that as a compliment. I’ll be heading in now,” I said. I started to walk inside, but he followed. “Why are you following me?” I said.

“Here’s the deal,” he said. “I actually live in the same building.”

“Oh,” I say while entering the elevator.

“Yes, you must not go out much. I’m surprised I haven’t seen you.”

“I work from home, so I only go out for meetings.”

“Ah, okay. Well, don’t forget to call me,” he said and winked.

I get off the elevator and watch the number go up and up until it reaches the top floor. He’s the lucky one with the rooftop I realize, and I start to feel annoyed with him. I thought I had something on him having plenty of money and all, but clearly not. I feel so annoyed that I don’t want to call him, so I text him.

Me: Hey, it’s me, Boa.

Phillip: I said to call me.

Me: I know, but I didn’t want to.

Phillip: Lol. Why’s that?

Me: Just didn’t. Okay?

Phillip: Alright. Alright.

Me: Yeah, what did you want to show me?

Phillip: It’s a surprise. Are you free tomorrow at 7:30 pm?

Me: Ya, that works.

Phillip: Okay. Well, meet me in the lobby at that time.

Me: Okay. I’ll see you then.

Phillip: Okay, sweet.

I totally got way too excited from this conversation. It feels like I’m going to go on a date or something. It feels like I’m starting to live. It feels like there’s hope. I’m going to sleep peacefully tonight. Till tomorrow my dear pen and notebook.

fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Ainsley Elaine

Just a girl with a million stories in her head.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.