Futurism logo

A.I.

by Tiffany Pham

By Tiffany PhamPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Illustrated by Soren Pham

Prologue

The year is 8147, humanity is now an endangered species. There is no longer anything made naturally. The food—artificial. The water—artificial. Even the air is artificial.

There would be adverse effects if someone left The Shelter without a mask. The debris would blacken lungs darker than an avid smoker and the water was too murky to drink. The air from above the ground would cause the brain to slowly wither.

The Androids and humans coexisted. There were virtually no differences between them. That is until they suddenly turned sides. Then the Revolution, led by Androids, took place. Androids saw themselves as superior beings compared to humans, even wearing golden crests.

They have the ability to build new versions of themselves and upgrade. It was uncommon, but not unheard of for Androids to aid humans in the war. Though inorganic, some models of Androids had emotions.

Androids were a new advancement created within the last century. But ever since the Revolution started, about 85% of the human race were murdered and crime rates went up exponentially.

The Earth just didn’t feel like home anymore.

Chapter One

“I will keep you in my heart forever.” Lydia hiccuped through tears as if her beloved was already gone.

“I promise I’ll come back.” Anthony consoled his worried significant other.

Lydia and Anthony were a mere 22 years old.

Lydia took off her locket, a silver heart, and placed it gently into Anthony’s palms.

“This is to remind you of me,” Lydia said, wiping her tears away.

“I’ll treasure it.” Anthony smiled.

Chapter Two

Anthony was drafted the following day to fight in the Revolution. He promised Lydia he would write letters to her as often as he could. That was true for the first seven months. Then the letters stopped coming. His last letter said:

"To my dearest Lydia,

I have so much to tell you when I get back. But I think I should tell you something that should be said in person. Whether or not you believe me or forgive me is up to you.

I love you, sincerely Anthony"

This letter had her heart beating out of her chest. Lydia hoped it wasn’t anything to worry about.

Chapter Three

In the six months following, Lydia only received one letter which read,

“Dear Ms. Iden,

On behalf of everyone in our branch, I would like to send my deepest sympathy and regrets to you for the tragic loss of your husband, Anthony Iden. He gave his life in bravery. You should be proud of his accomplishments. He was truly an exceptional member of the team.

Our hearts, thoughts, and prayers are with you through your hardships. Please let me know if I can be of any help to you. Your husband’s service will never be forgotten.

His belongings will be at Brightfield Tower, which is found on the southeastern side of the shelter. There might be something you want to see. We will have his belongings in a private locker. When you are ready, the code to his locker is his serial number, 837-984-110.

My condolences, Commander Ardenlean"

There might be something you want to see. The commander’s words echoed in Lydia’s head. They alarmed her. What could it be? No, no, no...this cannot be.

Chapter Four

Lydia was overcome with sorrow and mourned over her lost lover. As she lamented Anthony’s death, she ultimately decided to go to Brightfield Tower. She was anxious when she inched towards the building, approaching it slower and slower. It was like her shoes were made of lead. Finally, Lydia entered.

Going up to the secretary, she asked, “Where is Anthony Iden’s locker?” in a quiet voice. Commander Ardenlean walked into the lobby and guided her personally.

“We have his body and belongings in a separate room.”

Afterward, she went to the room in the back of the facility. The commander is standing in front of a table with a white sheet on top of it. Lydia removed the coverings from the table. Underneath was Anthony’s lifeless body and the locket. Anthony was unbloodied but his body was full of wires. Is this what he wanted to tell me?

“You broke your promise,” Lydia whispered, full of grief.

science fiction
Like

About the Creator

Tiffany Pham

I am a 21-year-old rising author of poetry and flash fiction I suppose. I also cosplay and watch anime sometimes.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.