Futurism logo

A Home Beyond - Part One

Science Fiction

By AnniePublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
A Home Beyond - Part One
Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

This is a fictional science fiction story.

By NASA on Unsplash

Introduction

Immortality has become the new normal. When I was 19 years old, I made the decision to get injected with one of the first doses of the aging vaccine.

In 4203, scientists discovered that the oxygen that we breathe is both keeping us alive and killing us slowly at the same time, which caused increased aging. Soon after, they began developing a vaccine that would stop the oxygen from killing us slowly allowing us to last longer.

So sure, maybe it isn't immortality, but it sure feels that way. My physical appearance makes me look, if I hadn't gotten the vaccine, like I am around 25 years old. I am actually 50 now.

When the vaccines were first released, chaos ensued. Riots against the vaccines broke out and many people would break into vaccine factories and attempt to destroy them. There was a theory that the vaccines made us infertile in order to slow down the issue of overpopulation.

In 4206, we colonized The Moon. It turns out that for the past thousands of years, NASA had been developing the best way to colonize space.

In 4213, we colonized Mars. Humans were now on three different bodies of space. I chose to remain on Earth.

Everything happened so quickly. An anti-aging vaccine was developed, we colonized The Moon, and we colonized Mars in the span of 10 years.

By NASA on Unsplash

The Present

Now, it is the year 4234 and I was sitting in my apartment alone, eating a bowl of Fruity Pebbles in front of the TV at 8:59PM on a Friday night. A special broadcast was being live streamed at 9PM that was going to announce some big news from the Space Colonization Organization, also known as SCO. I love hearing about this type of news because it is so different from the typical Earth news. They had announced this special broadcast a week ago, and I had been hyped up for it ever since.

"Hello and welcome to the SCO special broadcast. I am your host, Michael Barnes..." as the newscaster spoke, I couldn't help but zone out. Obviously, I was excited for this, but I was waiting for the announcement and didn't enjoy the introduction parts.

"And now please welcome the CEO of SCO, Makayla Cobbins, to share her company's very special announcement." Now, they had my attention.

"Hello everybody. I'm sure you've all been waiting to hear the special news that we have been planning to share. Well, I am stoked to announce that a probes we sent into space, all hosted on the ship named VENTURE, has found something incredible. With our new hyperspace technology, we have finally safely been able to travel to a new galaxy called Fomdamedia. We sent VENTURE through to this new galaxy and released a plethora of smaller probes to check out many of the planets and other bodies there. One of our probes, SENTIENCE, has found a planet that seems perfect for human colonization. We are looking for volunteers to send to this new planet, that we are calling T-98 for now. Please go to spacecolonizationorganization.org/apply/sentience if you want the opportunity to go to this new galaxy. We are specifically looking for those who have the anti-aging vaccine due to the long flight..." I jumped out of my seat to grab my laptop, ignoring the rest of the announcement as she concluded.

Based on the fact that I am still on Earth, it is safe to assume that I am not a fan of space travel. On the contrary, I would love to go to space. I haven't found the right opportunity to travel to The Moon or Mars. They've been sending younger people to those places in order to grow civilizations. After applying to travel there for years, I fell out of the age range. However, with this anti-aging vaccine requirement, I felt like I had a shot.

I never filled out a form so fast. I was typing at the speed of light (no pun intended). I held my breath as I clicked submit and never felt so hopeful that I would be chosen for such an exciting journey.

I live alone and don't have any family. I've been working as a full time manager at my local grocery store for so long and have been trying to find better opportunities. I also sell stuff online in order to pay rent. I need to get out of this situation, and preferably, off of the planet.

By The New York Public Library on Unsplash

7 Months Later

After a long day at work, I was way too excited for my daily bowl of Fruity Pebbles. As I typically did, I grabbed my phone and checked my emails as I grabbed the box to pour in my bowl.

I stopped in my tracks. I had a new email from SCO regarding my application to travel to T-98. I was frozen. I hadn't ever received an email about an application before.

Scared but also excited, I grabbed my phone and winced as I open the email.

"Congratulations! You fit the requirements for the SCO's planned first flight to planet T-98. Click the link below to set up a virtual interview time. We can't wait to speak with you!" I couldn't stop myself from smiling. This is all I ever wanted.

"Woo!" I yelled to myself and pumped my fist in the air. Then, embarrassed even though I was alone, cleared my throat and headed to the couch with my cereal.

I took the first interview slot available that worked for my schedule. Tomorrow at 4PM was the golden time. Tomorrow at 4PM, my whole life could change.

By ActionVance on Unsplash

Tomorrow at 3:50PM

I was freaking out. My stomach hurt so badly from my nerves and my anxiety was forcing me to overthink this entire situation. My body was shaking and I could not stop the nervous tears from rolling down my face. Each minute felt like a year and I had to pull myself together.

I couldn't stop checking the time. I couldn't stop pacing around. I couldn't stop shaking. I couldn't stop crying.

I took some deep breaths and tried to calm myself down. I knew I had to do well on this interview to even be considered for this. I went to my mirror and tried to hype myself up.

"You," I pointed at myself in the mirror, "are amazing. They will love you."

It was 3:59. I clicked the link to open up the virtual chat room and held my breath to keep from screaming.

Someone was already there waiting for me. It was starting already. I felt so underprepared, yet there was nothing to prepare for.

"Hello, is this... Jaycen Garmin?" the man said.

"Yes! Hello!" I said, trying too hard to sound enthusiastic when I already knew I was feeling enthusiastic. I was not feeling confident at all and I was afraid that this was going to translate to the interviewer.

"Hi! My name is Ashton and I just wanted to ask you some questions regarding your application in order to make sure you are a perfect fit."

"Of course!"

I didn't feel too great about the interview. I knew I was visibly nervous and I knew that I could have done better. This was going to haunt me until I got an answer.

By Bill Jelen on Unsplash

1 Week Later

"Congratulations! You have been chosen for SCO's exclusive ride to the planet T-98. The launch takes place on The Moon due to its low gravity level. Your flight to The Moon has already been booked and once you arrive will have one day before the flight to T-98 begins. You must understand that if you miss your flight to The Moon, you will not be going to T-98. Reminder: the trip is a one way trip. The people on this flight will be beginning the colonization process on T-98."

There was so much information to process when I opened that email. I. Was. Chosen.

"I WAS CHOSEN!" I yelled in my apartment alone. I finally had a chance to do something purposeful with my life and get away from the terribleness of Earth.

My adrenaline made it difficult to focus on the rest of the email. As I viewed my flight to The Moon, I noticed that first I had a flight from my local airport to the George Bush International Airport in Houston, Texas. Then, there is a special tram to the launch site where I would be sent to The Moon.

I was beyond excited.

END OF PART 1/2

science fiction
Like

About the Creator

Annie

she/her

I have a small sticker shop on Etsy called DynamiteArtStickers, so if you can, please check that out. The IG for it is @dynamiteart368.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.