Futurism logo

A Foot in Each Camp

What it’s like to be on the Pisces-Aquarius Cusp

By Richard SoullierePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

You will always be born on one side of the line. When you are born so close to the top of the hour on a very special day at a very particular point on the globe like I was, you are inevitably and heavily influenced by both sides. For me, that would be the dreamer (Pisces) and the thinker (Aquarius). Holy beep!Now before I get into it, I would like to say that I firmly believe that each of us is here to be here. That’s my way of saying ‘for a reason’ without the dogma that can actually limit who you are. In fact, the fun location of Mercury at the time of my birth just goes to show how my words can get muddled unless I think about them. For example:

What he write seems super-interesting, but you cannot tell what it’s about from the subject line. [my current boss]

He might not say much, but when he talks, it’s worth listening to. Your words, on the other hand, are as useless as a chocolate teapot. [former Scout leader to another Boy Scout]

So have those two star signs, with Pisces being predominant, given me anything that have or can been seen in me?

Stories have always been big with me. As a child, a favorite past-time was spending an afternoon at a library picking out some books to read during the week. They would push mental limits, though, with things like adventures, lives of explorers, science fiction, political intrigue, oddities in spirituality over the ages, and philosophy. Now it’s body-shaping and home repair, but to me, that’s living a dream that I get to make great.

Later, I got into the big screen, first with fantasy, then science-fiction. Dramas and comedies alright, but I have to be in the mood since they tend to limit themselves to predominantly one emotion throughout. But, like Aquarius, I almost always prefer originals over remakes.

Am I artsy-fartsy? Well, perhaps it is the Aquarius side, the tinkerer, that gets me curious, very curious, as to how things work so I remain closely connected to reality. In fact, being inquisitive is no biggie for me and I generally respond in kind - without putting my foot in my mouth. I mean, we are all simply human-beings who need to know things to get things done well. So ask.

Do I consider myself imaginative or inventive? Since it is both, I will go with creative. Also, since it is both, giving me an idea will fuel my forte. In fact, I structure my email inbox, both personal and professional, to be idea-centered. I pick the dreams to work with.

Show me a process and I will inevitably get accustomed to it, grow bored, and add some flare to keep everyone interested and the task interesting. Is it a special day? Break out the costumes. Is it someone’s birthday? At least get them a card signed by the people in the same working group.

In fact, with both signs being so far into the second half of the zodiac, my thoughts are invariably centered on others. Over the decades, I have become increasingly proficient at identifying how I can help others while maintaining a sense of self and balance. Mind you, spending a significant portion of my youth working and fund-raising for charities may have been the roots of that, especially since my family was big on service towards others.

Am I filled with dichotomies? A few. For example, I cannot stand cruelty towards others, but I cannot muster enough consistent malicious intent towards others to become proficient in hurting others via prolonged martial arts training. My Aquarius side really likes the idea of (and philosophy behind) martial arts, though.

That’s right, I’m a lover…with some great ideas. To put this into perspective, I have greatly surprised my Sagittarius fiancee on a number of occasions.

In fact, this is a point I need to spend some time on with you, the reader. Don’t wait for the perfect moment. Make it. With whatever you’ve got. And leave the rest up to a little spin plus appreciation and love from those around you. I proposed, right smack in the middle of Covid’s second wave in my country and the third wave in hers. There’s no way we could have eloped, or gotten married any time soon thereafter what with international travel for required guests. But I made the promise I knew was in my heart, she accepted with what was in hers, and we called a lot of people with GOOD news.

Turn the tide. It’s pretty cool when you make that choice.

So when you look at your astrology or any other self-profile, those are suggestions for things to pay attention to and not be overly surprised about. That’s it. You get to make things happen and that will inadvertently draw close people who appreciate you because, let’s face it, even incredibly forgiving Pisces have limits.

I am going to avoid a diatribe about a life examined being the only one worth living and instead make two fun suggestions to help fortify your mindset in this regard. One is to play the board game Firefly (either in-person or online). Don’t wait for the perfect hand, just make the most of what you have been dealt.

My other recommendation is to pay attention to the people around you. No need to be their servant or anything. Just pay attention for what you see and expect in others as well as how they themselves go about their business. You will learn a lot about your environment and if there is anything you can tidy up or switch around, hey, that’s called improvement! That is something that will make either most self-centered or the most selfless happier.

Did you notice how I wrapped up both extremes with that example?

Well, is there anything else about me astrologically that I can think of? My favorite colour is blue (and with that double whammy of star signs, duh), although my power colour is green. Other than that, according to Chinese lore I was born in the Year of the Monkey - the brainiest animal of the bunch! Suffice it to say, sign me up for some honest brainstorming!

-------------------------------------

If you have really liked what you have read, please share with your friends on social media. As always, feel free to check out the other things I have written here on Vocal.

Thank you!

astronomy
Like

About the Creator

Richard Soulliere

Bursting with ideas, honing them to peek your interest.

Enjoyes blending non-fiction into whatever I am writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.