Futurism logo

10 Shocking Mandela Effects *Must Read*

Memories... you know, those little things that creep up in the back of you mind and give you that warm, fuzzy, feeling inside your chest? Memories are something that the world as a collective have all experienced. There are beautiful memories, sad ones, one that make us feel indifferent. But what if there are ones that never really existed at all?

By The Darkest SunrisePublished 5 years ago 6 min read
Like

For years, I believed that my childhood was nothing short of a poetic fairy-tale. Growing up, I had most of what I wanted and everything that I needed. It wasn't always magical, but it was great to know that regardless of the ungrateful attitude I carried as a little shit, my mom still took really good care of me. If I were her I would have definitely slid me back to God immediately. However, she fell in love, and here I am. Being a kid was hard at times, but there were many times I made great memories.

Memories... you know, those little things that creep up in the back of you mind and give you that warm, fuzzy feeling inside your chest? Memories are something that the world as a collective have all experienced. There are beautiful memories, sad ones, one that make us feel indifferent. But what if there are ones that never really existed at all?

Today we are going to be talking about Mandela Effects. If you didn't know, a Mandela Effect is when a large amount of people share the same false memory. It is believed that this is the direct result of multiple universes. The reason behind the now famous name actually was directly correlated to the death of Nelson Mandela. Many could recall Mandela dying in the 80s, but were later shocked to read identical headlines stating that Mandela had died in prison on December 5, 2013. This sparked many more examples of the strange happenings of the Mandela Effect.

Today we are going to go over ten of the most shocking Mandela Effects yet! Be prepared to be confused, have your childhood ruined, and question everything you know to be reality.

#1: The Monopoly Man Doesn't Have A Monocle

I'm sure we've all been through mental breakdowns as children playing this game with our families. Personally, my family never took it easy on me, and I spent countless nights crying myself to sleep. I never really understood how I could go from a nice stroll at the train station to getting sent to jail and losing my rent money. It was a hard time to be 12 for sure. I remember every detail about that game because it prepared me for some really real adult trauma I had to set myself up for. That miserable Monopoly guy and his stupid monocle around his eye. Oh, wait. HE NEVER HAD A MONOCLE. Fight me on it all you want, but please go do some extensive research because I sure did. I scoured the internet for that stupid monocle for hours. In the end it was nowhere to be found. This is just one of the many weird Mandela affects with an array yet to come.

#2: Pikachu's Tail Was Never Black At The Tip

Pikachu was a part of millions of children's, and even adults', hearts growing up. Pokemon was something that a lot of us considered a phase, but for many it was a lifestyle. Regardless, we all knew and loved Pikachu. If you didn't you're probably wild. Anyway, I distinctly remember the tip of Pikachu's tail being black. Only it wasn't. Ever. Again during an extensive path through the internet I found that this is another very true one. It's a little bit insane to think that we all saw something, sitting inches from our televisions, and what we remember is as far from the truth as we can possibly get.

#3: Darth Vader Never Said "Luke, I am your father."

I am not a super fan of Star Wars. I never have been and I never will be. It's not that I hate it (I appreciate people for the crafts that they create), it just wasn't my thing. However, regardless of my failure to commit to the film, everyone knows the famous line that Darth Vader said. In fact, as a child I would walk around quoting the movie without even knowing what movie I was quoting. Everyone said it in my school. It was a quote I had heard over and over again for like a year of my childhood. Only Darth Vader stated, "No, I am your father," not "Luke, I am your father." It's super confusing and makes me want to rip my hair out, but maybe I'm just crazy. Maybe we all are just crazy.

#4: Kit Kat Bars Never Had A Dash

I remember the Kit Kat symbol having a dash in it but it literally never has. This Mandela Effect drives me a little insane, but a part of me doesn't really give a shit because Kit Kats were never my thing.

#5: The Queen In The Movie Snow White Never Said "Mirror, mirror, on the wall."

I can't even begin to explain how stressed out this makes me. I know for an actual fact that this happened. It had to have happened. So many people have used this quote in so many situations it's unreal. But somehow the reality of it all is that it never even happened. She apparently all along had said "Magic mirror, on the wall" which honestly makes no sense to me. The world as I know it is a lie.

#6: Curious George Never Had A Tail

Let's just talk about this for a second. This one is true but seriously mind-blowing. I know that Curious George had a tail. How the hell else do monkeys get around from tree to tree? It just doesn't make sense why the creators would ever just not give him a tail. It is unfair to him and all of us 90s babies that rooted for George from the very beginning.

#7 Jiffy Peanut Butter Was Always Just Jif

It's weird to wrap your head around isn't it? Your mom made you peanut butter and jelly sandwiches with the same Jiffy peanut butter your entire childhood. Only it wasn't Jiffy, it was Jif, and that is extremely damaging to my mental health.

#8: Loony Toons Has Always Been Loony Tunes

First of all, toon makes more sense than tune because it's a literal cartoon. We all enjoyed our fair share of cartoons in our day and I don't think we ever expected the to switch up on us. Apparently our minds have been the only things switching up.

#9: Double Stuff Vs. Double Stuf

Apparently the people who work for the Oreo company need to take a remedial English class, because I guess it's always been Double Stuf Oreos. It is clear that that makes no sense but I feel this alternate universes have set this one in place specifically to torment me.

#10: "We Are The Champions"

This is a popular song that billions of people jam to on a constant basis and guess what? That lovely part at the end where he says we are the champions "of the world" never happened. Freddy Mercury never says "of the world" at the end of his song and it literally grinds my gears to the point of no return.

How do all of us remember these silly details of life yet none of them are true? How are we all wrong? Are their alternate universes? Find out on our next episode of IDFK.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

The Darkest Sunrise

Hello beautiful souls! Open book vibes over here!

Check out my podcast where you can learn to become your best self! <3

https://open.spotify.com/show/5cwcBivrINaGKqRLtBaGOx?si=kJMHUF_yQj2epM84RYSi_Q

Have the best day and drink your water! <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.