Fiction logo

Zircon - Chapter 4

The Crash Site

By AGBPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
Like

I woke with a warm wet and slimy tongue across my face. I push Zeke away and sat straight holding on to the steering wheel. The windshield is complete shattered. The truck is covered in dust and plant matter. Zeke starts to whine and bark. “Shhh, be quiet!” I snapped at him while holding my head. I have an unbearable headache. I looked at myself in the rearview mirror and my right eyebrow is cut open. I’m bleeding. With the back of my hand, I wipe the blood away from my eyes. It was still dark. I passed out probably for like 15 to 20 minutes. I don’t know, I guess. Don’t really feel like looking at the time. I open the door to inspect the damage. I walk out the truck. The front is completely dented inwards. The right headlight is broken. White smoke is coming from the sides of the hood, most likely a broken radiator. Not to mention the front axle of the truck looks a bit funky. “Damn this is going to cost me!”

Still crushed against my truck I saw the sphere-shaped looking pod. I had never seen anything like it. Its design was out of this world, like literally! It no longer seems to have the capability of camouflage with its surroundings. The collision against my truck seems to have severely damaged it. The outside of the ship was short circuiting and the camouflage system was glitching. Parts of the ship was invisible while others were not. The top of the ship seems to be like a glass hatched door. I was hesitant at first, but I decided that I wanted to open it and look inside. It was heavy, I alone was not able to get it open. I pressed my face against the glass to peek inside. I used my hands to cover the glare of the remaining head light of the truck.

Zeke was still in the truck. I could hear him whining.

“I think I see him Zeke!” I shouted back to him. “He doesn’t look to good in there.” I tried to open the hatched door again with my bare hands. “If I could just get this stupid thing open!” After a few seconds of pulling and pushing but to no avail, I stopped to catch my breath.

Zeke barked this time. I looked back at the cabin of the truck. I could see him panting like he does when he is excited. “What I am I doing?” I touched my head “I must have a concussion or something.” I jump off the spaceship and walked to the cabin of the truck and got in. I put the gear in reverse, just a little and got back out. I walked up to the front of the truck and bend down to check the winch. It was surprisingly still okay. I grabbed the load hook and walked to the other side of the spaceship. I dropped the load hook that was attached to the cable on the floor and jogged back to the tailgate of the truck. Near the back window on the bed, I had a toolbox filled with my emergency and camping equipment. I opened it and got the crowbar out. I jogged back to the spaceship and used to crowbar to lift the hatch door open, at least a little. I was able to get a good gap and hooked the winch to it. I jogged back to the motor of the winch and slowly let it do its magic. It worked! I was able to get the pod open. I ran over to look inside and there he was, the naked dude! He was badly hurt. He had bruises and cuts all over his nude body. But the mind-blowing part was his blood, it was white!

“What. The. Fuck! Sara was fucking right! It was an alien spaceship!”

I was startle when he opened his eyes to look at me. “Help, please.” He said in between breaths.

“I…” was all I was able to say when he passes out again.

……..

U.S Department of Defense

The Pentagon, Washington D.C.

The hallways at the pentagon were filled with staff running from one end the other. The Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff was on his way to meet up with the DOD’s top leaders. At the end of the hallway was the conference room where the meeting was to be held. The front doors was guarded by two military offices. Their orders was to deny access to any unauthorized personnel. This meeting was top secret, classified information was to be discussed. No one was to know especially those nosy reporter that bring chaos and confusion to the public.

The Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff opens the doors and sees in the room already waiting Charles Ritchson, Deputy Secretary of Defense; Anthony McGuire, Vice Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff; and Valery Smith, Secretary of Defense.

“Good evening, ladies and gentlemen.” He began saying as he found his chair. “Thank you for meeting at such short notice. It has been brought to my attention that at 1300s hours today our allies in the Italian air force have encounter unidentified and hostile aircrafts over their airspace. The Italian air force has currently identified three civilian witnesses. Fishermen out in the Thyrrhenian Sea at the time of the incident. I will present now the video taken by one of the crew members.” As he turned the video on the screen tv he looks back at the rest of the group “What you are about to see is top secret and cannot leave this room.” They all agreed and saw the recordings.

“Oh my God! Has this video been contained? Asked Valerie after the recording was over.

“Yes, the Italian air force has confiscated all devices from the fishermen. They will not say a word about the incident.

“What about casualties? What are the Italians saying to the media to cover up this incident?”

“As far as the incident with the unidentified aircraft, they are saying it was a basic military training exercise. The tsunami that destroyed Naples, they are saying it was an earthquake.”

“Do we know where the UFOs are heading?” asked Charles

“I have top personnel working on getting the exact location. It will take some time giving that their technology is more advanced than our own. They have a way of vanishing from our radars. But as far as the data shows, one is heading to US soils, the second pod was heading to South America, the third pod to Africa, and the fourth somewhere in the Russian wilderness. The “Mothership” is assumed to still be at the bottom of the Thyrrhenian Sea.”

As they were talking, one of the guards at the front door entered and gave an envelope directly to the Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff.

“Pardon my intrusion sir, this was sent by general O’Neil” he handed the letter and walked back out.

The Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff opens the envelope and silently read the contents of the letter. His eyes widen to the news.

“What is it, Brian?” Asked Valery

“We have received the first coordinates. One of the pods has landed in the Sonora desert, Arizona!”

“We must inform the president immediately!” said Anthony

Valery grabbed the red phone in the middle of the conference desk. It began to ring.

……….

I took me some effort, but I was able to put the naked dude on the back of my truck. Damn, he was a heavy bastard! He was still passed out in the back of my truck. It would have been a lot easier if he was awake! But then again, he was badly hurt. I covered him with the blankets I had, closed the tailgate, and got in the cabin. Zeke was wagging his tail, wimping, licking my right hand and cheek.

“Yeah, yeah. I know, but I can’t leave him out here.”

I put the truck into gear and drove back to the main road as slowly as possible. Need to be careful on that front axle, don’t want it leaving me stranded here in the middle of the desert.

The entire drive back home was silent. No music, no talking to Zeke, not a sound but the wind as we drove through the night. But my head, oh that was a completely different story. My head was loud! It wouldn’t shut up! It would say stuff like: What the hell happened back there? What are we going to do with him? He is badly hurt, should I take him to a hospital? How can I, HE IS A DAMN ALIEN! They are going to dissect him when they see his white blood! Like what the hell? Who the fuck has white blood? Apparently, he does, that’s who! Okay, okay, let’s think this carefully. What am I going to do when we get home? I will let him sleep it off in my couch. Okay assuming he wakes up, then what? I will… I will give him the spare clothes from Nick to put on (assuming they fit!). They should fit, I mean they were both muscular. Wait a minute, wait a minute. What do you mean assuming he wakes up? Well, he could…. He could die in your couch. What then? Holy Shit! He could die in my couch! How will I dispose of the body?! What if I get caught with a dead man in my apartment?! Hey, hey, hey shut up now. One thing at a time. Lest cross that bridge, IF we ever get to it. Okay, Okay. I thought as I took deep breaths. This was going to be a long night and some crazy days ahead.

Sci Fi
Like

About the Creator

AGB

Traveling geologist, outdoor enthusiast and adventure seeker.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.