Fiction logo

Zhane & Vitani Chapter 9

Sweet Karma

By Kylecovey SmithPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 6 min read
Like

Chapter 9

Zhane, Vitani and all of their friends were in the cafeteria going over the details of their plan to get back at Rachel.

Okay Ruby when it's time to go home, tell Rachel there is a special Halloween sale at Forever 21, because a there is going to be a huge party at the mall, said Vitani.

Got it. But why do I have to tell her?

You're the only one she hasn't been totally hostile too. Remember she spat in Kimiko's face and tripped me. Rachel would be more willing to listen to you.

I don't know.

Come on Ruby do it for Vee and I. Don't forget she called you Pocahontas on the first day of school, said Kimiko.

Oh yeah, I forgot about that. Okay, I'll do it.

Then it's settled. Ruby just has to convince Rachel to go to the mall after school, said Zhane.

She may need some convincing, so here is a little incentive, said Tommy.

Tommy pulled out some coupons from his bookbag.

Here are some 65% percent off coupons from Forever 21. Rachel will have no choice but to go to the mall.

Everyone confusedly stared at him.

What? My family gets tons of coupons in the mail, and Forever 21 has nice polo shirts.

Well, that was...unexpected, said Michael.

Whatever. Good move Tommy. Are you ready Ruby, asked Vitani.

Ruby took a deep breath.

Ready.

Then the plan officially starts now.

When school ended at 2:30, Ruby saw Rachel wave goodbye to her friends.

Rachel is alone Vee. I'm making my move; she said on the phone.

Just be smooth Ruby. Good luck.

Ruby took a deep breath.

Here we go.

Hey Rachel! Can we talk?

What do you want?

I just wanted to tell you that Forever 21 is having a special sale for Halloween.

Seriously? How do you know?

Oh! I ... signed up for the email alerts and they send me tons of deals like this 65% off coupon that I've been giving out. It's yours if you want it.

Really!?

Rachel snatched the coupon from Ruby's hand in excitement.

Wait. Why are you giving this to me?

Well, Tommy the blonde boy from art class told me about the email alerts. Now I have more coupons than I can manage, and everyone knows you like Forever 21, so I figured you'd want them.

Tommy told you about it.

Yeah.

Hmm, he's cute and has good taste in stores, Rachel said under her breath.

What was that?

Oh! Nothing! I would say thanks but we're not friends. So, see ya Pocahontas I'm heading to the mall.

Rachel walked away as Ruby called Vitani on her phone.

Hey Vee, it's official. Rachel is heading to the mall she took the Forever 21 coupon and didn't even say thank you.

That's typical. But great job Ruby, we'll see you at the mall.

Even when you're nice to her she's still a jerk. I'll see you soon.

The kids met up at the mall and took their positions to scout for Rachel.

Any sign of her royal heinous, asked Vitani.

Not yet, said Michael.

She hasn't walked into Forever 21 either, replied Ruby.

Hey, this blouse is super cute, said Kimiko.

Kimiko! Focus.

Sorry. But the store really does have good deals.

Zhane and I are in the lounge, but we haven't seen her. Ugh, Rachel should have shown up by now it's been almost half an hour.

Vitani no need to worry. We'll get her, said Zhane.

I'm heading to the bathroom.

Zhane went in the bathroom and one he was finished he saw Rachel walk out of the women's bathroom. He quietly followed her through mall crowd and called Tommy.

Hello, you found Tommy.

Tommy. I found Rachel and it looks like she's heading to Forever 21. You and Jose get mall security.

Got it. Jose its show time.

Seriously? They just put out fresh cinnamon buns.

Jose, come on.

Fine, let's get the rent-a-cop.

Michael spotted Rachel from upstairs and three-way called the girls.

Vitani, Kimiko, Ruby. Get ready, the queen of mean is heading your way.

Thanks Mike. I got the camera ready, said Vitani.

Rachel finally walked into Forever 21.

Kimiko and Rachel secretly watching behind the clothes rack.

The two girls saw Rachel scouting the bracelet rack and quietly stuff a purple bracelet in her pocket.

No way. Not only does she frame people for stealing she's a thief herself, said Ruby.

Well, it's time to put Rachel in her place.

Kimiko called Vitani.

Vitani it's now or never. You need to make your move, because Rachel just stole a bracelet.

What?! Does she ever take a break? Where are those guys?

Zhane dashed towards his sister.

Hey Vitani, did Rachel show up yet?

Yeah, she's in the store. Where is Jose and Tommy?

They'll be here right about...now.

The siblings saw their friends running down the hall with the security guard.

Awesome you guys made it just in time, Vitani.

Sweet. I'm glad we're not too late, said Jose.

This better be good kids, said the security guard.

As of matter of fact it is, said Zhane.

He showed the guard the video of Rachel planting the perfume in Vitani's purse.

The girl responsible for setting up my sister is in the store right now.

The security guard looked up and saw Rachel browsing for jackets.

Well, I'll be darned. You kids are right. I'll take care of this.

Vitani started filming the situation.

The security guard walked up to Rachel, and he grabbed her wrist.

Hey! What are you doing! Let go of me!

I need you to come with me sweetheart.

What! Why? I didn't do anything.

Vitani, Zhane and the rest of the gang gathered around to see the mean girl's karma.

Oh, I wouldn't say that if I were you, Rachel. What you should say is that framed me for stealing that perfume, said Vitani.

No way she's lying.

Really? Well, this video says otherwise, said Zhane.

She also stole a bracelet that she put in her pocket. I saw her, said Kimiko.

No, I didn't!

Take everything out your pockets please.

Rachel was silent as she shamefully emptied her pockets, which included gum, her phone, cash and the bracelet.

You're just a full-on criminal aren't you sweetheart, asked the security guard. I'm going to have to put you in the holding cell and call your folks.

Please. I can't tell my dad that I stole from the mall, Rachel begged.

This is for spitting in my face, said Kimiko.

Calling me Pocahontas, said Ruby.

And tripping me, knocking food on me and framing for stealing, yelled Vitani.

Whoa. She really did a number you three, said Michael.

That's an understatement, said Zhane.

Rachel glared at Vitani.

I'll get you for this! You hear me!

It's called karma Rachel. You brought this on yourself.

Na-na, na-na na-na, hey-hey-hey, goodbye. The boys chanted.

Rachel angrily walked away with the security guard, and Vitani gave her brother big hug.

What was that for? Zhane asked.

For helping me clear my name and getting back at Rachel. Duh.

Hey, we're brother and sister. We may bug each other, but there's no way we'll let anyone else do that.

Thanks everyone. All of you did your part, said Vitani.

Teamwork Vee. We dealt with one bully, now it's time to deal with another, said Tommy.

Right. My boxing match with Trayquel, said Zhane.

Don't worry Zhane, we have three days to get you into shape. So, game on.

I'm happy to hear you say that Vitani.

All of us will help, said Michael.

Everyone shook their heads in encouragement.

Well in that case. High thirty-five.

All seven kids did a group high five.

Hey, they just put out fresh cinnamon buns. Is anyone up for them, said Jose.

You heard the man, lets celebrate!

ExcerptYoung AdultShort StorySeriesScriptSatireMicrofictionHumorFantasyfamilyAdventure
Like

About the Creator

Kylecovey Smith

Historian, Linguist, Author (Voyages of the 997 & The Method Mission), YouTuber/TikToker (Master Mojo) and now Vocal writer enjoy and critique my writing as please.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.