Fiction logo

Zhane & Vitani Chapter 7

The Challenge

By Kylecovey SmithPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Zhane and Michael were walking home from school after taking three back-to-back tests.

Man, I have never been more exhausted in my life. Why does school always have to torment us with test, asked Michael.

I hear you; Math, English and Science in one day? There really should be a law on how much work student are required to take, said Zhane.

But hey, look on the bright side Mike, it's almost Halloween and celebrating at Pizza Palace with Vitani and the girls.

Yeah, you're right, I need to get rid of all this test anxiety. Jose is meeting us there, right?

Yeah, it's gonna be all six of us.

Cool.

When the two boys walk around the corner on the way to Pizza Palace. They saw their friend Tommy being pushed around by Trayquel and his gang.

Oh no, looks like Trayquel got away from the cops when they bust the gang war, said Michael.

Yep, and he's still up to no good, said Zhane.

Maybe we should leave and find another way to Pizza Palace.

No-this has to stop now!

Dude, if we do anything to cross Trayquel he will wreck us. I wanna help Tommy too, but did you forget he pinned you to the ground and waved a knife in your face?

No, I haven't forgotten, but that gang war taught me you can't beat guys like Trayquel at their own game by joining a bunch of thugs. So, you have to think of an alternative.

What's the alternative?

This.

Zhane dashed towards Trayquel and suckered punched him in the face.

That's enough Trayquel!

Trayquel dazed from the hit and there was blood dripping from his nose.

Tommy, Michael and Trayquel stood in shock as if they saw a ghost.

Oh snap, said Tommy.

Ugh, Zhane, you've done it now, said Michael.

Trayquel got up holding his bloody nose.

Oh, I'm gonna rip your head of boy.

I'm done being scared. If you wanna fight? Then let's fight. But not here.

Why not? You just said you ain't scared.

I'm not. If we're gonna throwdown, let's make it official in the boxing ring at the city gym with everyone at school to watching.

Trayquel and his gang laughed.

Are you serious? Do you think you're Rocky or something, mocked Trayquel.

Hey if you're too much of a punk to be in a real fight. I completely understand.

Hey! You better watch who you calling a punk. Don't get cocky after that one little punch Zhane.

I thought gangbangers were supposed to be tough. Are you afraid I'll embarrass you in front of everyone?

Zhane, think about what you're saying, warned Michael.

Yeah dude, I don't think this isn't a smart move.

You really gonna let this little jit ride on you Trayquel, asked one goon.

Trayquel paused and thought to himself for a moment.

Fine, I'll do your lame boxing match. I owe you for that sucker punch anyway.

Good but under one condition, said Zhane.

What?

When I win. You have to lay off everyone you bully and apologize to them. Plus, you have to give us back our bikes.

Trayquel rolled his.

Fine. When I win, you have to join my gang.

So, do we have a deal?

It's a deal?

So, when will it happen, Trayquel asked.

Zhane thought.

This Saturday on Halloween at 4pm.

I got an idea. Let's call it the Spooktacular, said Tommy.

Tommy! Don't encourage this, exclaimed Michael.

Not bad. The Spooktacular it is then, said Zhane.

Don't cry when I beat you too hard, said Trayquel.

I haven't cried since I was 5 years old. I don't want to beat you Trayquel. I want to end you.

Ooh, look who finally decided to man up. See you on Saturday punk.

Zhane, Tommy, Michael eyed down Trayquel and his goons when they left to tend to his bloody nose.

Are you okay Tommy, asked Zhane.

Yeah, but you realize you have to fight the biggest thug in school, right?

I'm trying to wrap my head around it.

Well, challenging Trayquel to a fight that he can't get in trouble for might be the biggest mistake of your life, but we have a whole week to train, because he's coming back with a vengeance, said Michael.

You're absolutely right Michael and I can't hold back.

Zhane's eyes widened.

Oh snap! We still have to meet everyone at Pizza Palace!

I forgot too! Let's hurry. Come on Tommy, said Michael.

I'm behind you guys.

Man, I don't know what's worst. A boxing match with Trayquel or a Vitani roasting me for being late.

SatireYoung AdultShort StorySeriesHumorFantasyfamilyAdventure
Like

About the Creator

Kylecovey Smith

Historian, Linguist, Author (Voyages of the 997 & The Method Mission), YouTuber/TikToker (Master Mojo) and now Vocal writer enjoy and critique my writing as please.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.