Fiction logo

Yours, Truly

the love story she never expected to have fallen for

By MelPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
Like

All she ever dreamt of having was to get a taste of something different; anything different. A new life. A new beginning. All she's ever wanted was the taste of the type of life she's only dreamt of having. You know the one. The life where havoc was all that was known to the sole perpetrator. The life where you couldn't know whether a person was good or bad; either you trusted everyone, or trusted no one. That life. That's the life she wanted to take a bite out of. Just a taste. Just to get a feel of something... anything... different from her own.

But... But what if she was finally able to take that bite? What if she was offered just a sliver of that type of life, only for it to become way too much? Too much for her to handle... too much for her to take on. No escape. No way out. Trapped. Forever. Just herself and the one other person she was only able to imagine herself with.

Will she finally realize her truth? Or... will she forever be stuck in the center of a life she's always underestimated?

**

The only smell that was processing through my mind as I laid locked up inside this stiff, wooden box was the crisp mountain air from the very first day I moved here. Inhaling deeply, I closed my eyes. Picturing the darkened forest that surrounded the new place of residence my father just introduced me to. My father was beginning to unload the car, but my eyes couldn't get off the darkened forest that laid ahead of me. There he stood. A sole shadow. The sole shadow of a man whom, although I didn't know at that time, would change my life. The shadow of a man who stared back at me, standing behind the branches of a large tree with a thick trunk. I couldn't help myself. I just had to find out more about him; about who he was. I just had to let curiosity get the better of me that night.

Smh. Look where curiosity gets you..

"Hmm." He broke me out of my sudden trance, "Falling asleep?"

"You find a way out of here yet?" I answered back, brushing past his question.

He threw an old, worn-out towel at my face, "Does it look like I found a way for us to get out of here?"

"A simple no would've been a good response, damn." I found myself looking over his shoulder once more as he tried to, once again, repeat the exact same thing he's been doing for the last thirty minutes. How this man managed to cause panic amongst a whole town whenever he enters a room is beyond me. "Maybe you could've actually made progress if you tried something new," I mocked, doing my best to hide the giggle that wanted so badly to exit my mouth, "instead of doing the same thing... once again. Clearly, it isn't working."

"I don't see you trying to get out of here." He turned his glance onto me.

I fake gasped, "Are you actually going to allow me the opportunity to touch your tools!?"

"Don't you dare be smart." He handed the screwdriver over to me.

"If you actually left the door propped open earlier like I said to do, we wouldn't have gotten ourselves into this situation." I told him, grabbing the screwdriver and chipping away at the wood.

"You don't even know how to get out of here," He pointed to my handiwork, "Miss 'Try Something New'."

I stopped chipping away, placing the screwdriver down and turning towards him once more...

**

This story has been unfinished and sitting in my drafts for a few months now and I figured... rather than staring at it, unsure of the direction I want to take it from where I had written it, I'm just going to post this instead. I mean... this can be an "excerpt" - I just doubt I'll ever find a way to finish it up.

A little game/interaction for any reader who's interested: Comment below ways you'd end this story yourself (Idk.. I've never seen people do this and it seems like a fun way to get everyones creative juices flowing amongst one another).

Young AdultthrillerShort StoryPsychologicalMysteryMicrofictionLoveHumorHorrorFan FictionExcerptAdventure
Like

About the Creator

Mel

Ever since I was a kid, I've always wrote for fun. I never saw anything of it; I just wanted to write just to write. That's why I love Vocal.

she/they

instagram: stufflestream

tiktok: mercuryandme

youtube: Melon Melon | TheMelonVlogs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.