Fiction logo

Young man

Believe

By HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)Published 2 years ago Updated 10 months ago 4 min read
12

“Where Have All The Big Fish 🐠 gone?”

“Who Cleaned out the Lake?”

“The Government” said my Dad..

Looking over at me he continued..

“There Going to Build a Hospital 🏥”

Confused I said, “why would they Kill the Fish and Mermaids 🧜‍♀️ just to Build a Hospital?”

“Well people need more help in this Small Town and That would be Providing an Extra place for the suffering and Hurt people so that they could build up better”..said, my Dad

“Okay we’ll who’s looking after the fish? I remember when I was here last year.. me and Mom saw a Mermaid or a Really Big Fish...”

“Dad, I wish that I Could Keep them all, perhaps we could Build a Lake..” releasing his hand as I Ran downhill next to the Dried up lake.

“Okay Son, let’s not get carried away...”

“But, Dad you said I could Do anything if I put My Mind To it... so Let’s Build a Lake!”

“Well, Son listen Your 10 years of age right now so how about when Your 33.. let’s see if you still feel the same.”

“Okay Dad so How about we Boycott the Hospital and Maybe they’ll return the lake.”

Son you Really Loved that lake huh 🤔 💭

“Yes Dad” I Said.

“The Hospital Charges too much Money to Help people, How come they Don’t Help people for Free?” Why is the Government so Mean?

“There not mean Son Everyone has to Earn a living, so there just thinking Business.”

“Yes I Understand Dad.”

Son, “Everyone has a Journey, they’re going to 🧳 Travel in life, but Remember That Good Comes with Every Bad”..

“We Mustn’t Judge or Compare our Journey To Any “Man”or “Higher Power.”

Okay Dad, “So when I’m Older, would you Really Help me Build a Lake?

“ Yes Son, I would be wiser and Definitely equipped with the tools I Need..Mentally 🧘🏿 and physically, Emotionally also Spiritually!

Dad, what does that mean?

It means “I’ll pray and Believe while working towards the Goal then, “The Higher Power will deliver.”

“Wow just like that?”

“No son it’s an Agreement to LET THE (Higher Powers) BE IN CHARGE... which means “ although you want a lake with an abundance of fish🐟 Higher Powers might want you to Have maybe just A House with Amazing Landscaping, furthermore a great Pool in the Backyard with a Big fish Tank inside your House.”🏡

“We’ll Dad, I think we better get Home.. so that I could start 🙏 Praying Right Away!”

33rd Birthday 🥳

I remembered Every year on my Birthday 🎉 what my Dad had declared to me, that day before the government took the park away, and now I'm excited to see what my Gift this year would be.

“Son Happy Birthday 🎂🎊 I saved the Best Gift 🎁 for last.”
“ Okay, so cool 😎 Mom says, you’ve been doing a great job with your Secret Project Dad, I wonder 💭 what you were doing?”

Pop Looks up at me, and says “Okay cool I’m just going to go get my Blindfolds”.

Mom looks like she has not a clue 🕵️‍♀️ of what to do.. so she Stands there waiting as Dad hands over car Keys 🔑 and Put’s the blinds on me.

Honey I’m outside in the car 🚘..(moments later)I heard mom’s voice echo through the phone.📱

The drive was good and Smoothly 🌅 30mins.. ⏱ I felt Fluttered with Excitement and my Mom followed Dad’s Directions 🗺 Carefully. They shared Great Communication ,with mom occasionally saying “ I remember That Place, and “Oh That’s Nice”.

I listened to the music 🎶 in the low background “Cause I’m contemplating on Turning Back.. I feel like saying it’s a wrap..But I can’t handle all of that”.. Jonathan McReynolds’s Beautiful falsetto flowed through the car Speakers 🔊 “Don’t Ever let me go... The Way That you Love Me”.

Dad plays that Song 🎵 A lot.

Finally Everything Stops 🛑 and the Engine shuts down with a Silent “poof” 🚘

Hearing silence as I Exit the car, one Foot at a time…

“Careful not To Trip” mom said while closing the car door shut with a low(Thump)behind me.

Guided by Dad my nerves 😬 full of Excitement and curiosities..

(Here)

Blindfolds are off

Eyes 👀 Opened..

To my Surprise “The Higher Power” Has Definitely Delivered.”

OMG!!!

Smile 😊

By Robert Bahn on Unsplash

Short Story
12

About the Creator

HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)

Welcome to “My Public Diary “🤪💖

Your Mind is

A Wonderland of

Your Imagination

Make it Beautiful!

🎉I am an Actor, Model, Writer, and Entrepreneur ❤️❤️🙏

Send Tip$🍀 ❤️😉Send Hearts and Add insights if you'd like 😍 ✨💯😉❗

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll11 months ago

    Beautiful story , with a wonderful message 🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.