Fiction logo

You'll Need Me

Misplaced

By Dana CrandellPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 3 min read
24
Image Copyright ©Dana O. Crandell

It's going to be getting dark soon. And cold. Yeah, it's springtime, but it gets cold here underneath these redwoods without the sun. And they're already blocking most of it. This ground is damp, too.

I'm not worried for myself. I mean, I'm just a "inanimate object," right? It's true, I can't feel the cold, or the damp, but the moisture will eventually render me useless. Not that it will make much difference if you don't find me. You'll be lost without me.

Look at everything we've been through together. I've been right there for you since your 14th birthday and we both know how long ago that was. We know why your brother gave me to you, brand new in my box - because you lost the one that came before me. And look at where we are now.

We have a relationship, you and I. You've cared for me as if I was invaluable. And truth be told, that's exactly what I've been. Every adventure, every party, even around the house, I've been right there with you, tucked away safely, ready to work. And there's always been work to do. Everyone knew you could get the job - any job - done, because of me.

To be fair, I've been lost before, too. Remember? You left me beside the creek when you headed back upstream to the campsite. Just a quick trip downstream as the sun rose, for a few more casts. And you didn't remember me until you got back to camp.

There wasn't time to walk back down, because you'd stayed a little too long (as usual) and had to get back home. but you knew where the road back to the highway came close. I can't tell you how good it was to see you bounding down that hill, headed right for the spot where you knew I'd be waiting. That's how important I was then, and I know I'm just as important now. We're a team.

I get it, you know? You and the little woman were just having a nice hike in the redwoods. You wanted to get some pictures and she always goes with you. So do I. So you got the heart pumping and the two of you wandered off the trail for a few minutes because the trillium was blooming, and you got the bright idea to carve your initials and hers in to a massive old stump. Like a lovestruck kid. (She loves that part of you, y'know.)

So, you and I went to work on that stump and we created a masterpiece. She sat on a log and watched, and when you stepped back to admire your work, things got amorous. You're both nothing but a couple of lovestruck kids, really!

I saw it coming. In the heat of the moment and flurry of activity, the faithful Swiss Army knife fell to the ground - and here I am. There hadn't been time for the two of you to bask in the afterglow. Getting caught off the trails was a bad thing and looking the way you both did probably wouldn't have worked in your favor.

So, I'm here, lost, and what's gonna' happen to you? You'll need me.

Hang on, is that her voice I hear, laughing?

"I can't believe you! It's gonna' be getting dark!"

Yes! And that's you:

"I know, Babe. I'm sorry, but we have to find it! You know how important it is!"

"Okay, here's where we stepped off. Hurry up!"

Right here! I'm right here, by the log! Let HER look. You never find anything on your - ahhhh, here she comes!

She's saved your skin, again. I'm safely in your pocket, straight from her hands and the three of us are back on the trail, hustling back to the parking area while the sun sets.

"You'd be lost without me, you know!"

She's right, you know. You'd never survive without the two of us.

***

HumorLove
24

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Daphsam3 months ago

    What a great fun story! You are very talented.

  • Kristen Balyeat3 months ago

    Dana, this story was so amazing! Love the little love story happening, and you had me in knots over this sad, lonely object (which I couldn’t guess at first). And then “Let HER look. You never find anything on your…” 😂 so perfect! Great entry, my friend! 💞💫

  • Stephanie Ginger3 months ago

    Lovely story! Quietly amusing, nicely observed and cleverly written. What a talent you have!

  • Heather Hubler3 months ago

    Can I say that the best part was knowing she'd be the one to find it...hahaha. I always have to find everything for everyone around my house! This was a wonderful, feel-good tale. Sissy enjoyed it so much :)

  • Natalie Wilkinson3 months ago

    Great, so true.

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenler3 months ago

    Dana, this is charming, funny, and so well written! Bravo!

  • Awww, so happy to know it was found and reunited with him! At first I thought it was gonna be a compass but this was wayyyyy better! Loved your story!

  • I lost two Swiss army knives forgetting that they would be considered a weapon upon entering the concert venue. I had a choice, either surrender them or take them back to the car & return to the back of the line. They were small, not the full-size ones. I surrendered them--on two separate occasions. (You'd think I'd learn, lol.)

  • Caroline Jane3 months ago

    You had me guessing. My original thought was wrong and I didn't get it until you said it. Quite the mystery!

  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Captivating story!!! Loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    I love how the knife is involved in the relationship with the couple :)

  • Donna Renee3 months ago

    lol letting her look was key 🤣😁 this is so sweet!

  • Hope Martin3 months ago

    I love this story so much. Good job Dana. This story is full of love, and I love how the knife is talking to him like a 'best friend' would.

  • JBaz3 months ago

    Time to use GPS. Great story of lost item.

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    I thought it might be a compass at first 😁

  • Lamar Wiggins3 months ago

    Cool story, Dana! You had me guessing for a good min what it could be.

  • Judey Kalchik 3 months ago

    Somehow this seems more truth than fiction. How many HAVE you lost?

  • Gina C.3 months ago

    I was fully immersed in this, Dana! Very engaing and well-paced!

  • Mohammed Darasi3 months ago

    Great story Dana, and love the relationship between it and the boy 😁. Just fyi, the third paragraph has "band" instead of "brand"

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Yeah, you'd never have found it without her. Lol. Great story, my friend.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.