Fiction logo

Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow Are All We Have Or Is It?

When you live long enough, you don't think about the future much, but should you?

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
10
Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow Are All We Have Or Is It?
Photo by Mohamed Nohassi on Unsplash

Chapter One

Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say. I am guessing there is sound in space, and as humans, we can't hear it, in the same way, that Karma and other beliefs aren't the same for everyone, and not all believe this either!

Karma has been thrown around by others a lot lately. Not specifically for what I have done, but when hearing about another's behavior.

Some people believe we will come back as something inferior then if the behavior is not right.

Then others believe they were here on earth before, sometimes as the opposite sex even to who they are now.

There are many of my people that believe we continue to live as a soul beyond our bodies' time in the world.

Still, others have spoken of parallel worlds which can be similar to souls living forever.

A few have died and come back and they have had experiences that they talk about. Many sound very similar. And unless you heard the stories before, why would that be, if there isn't something to that?

My cultural teachings say that we should always think of seven generations into the future. Some people talk about the seventh generation as being the children now.

Caring for the planet for future generations. Doing my part. I have been recycling for over 50 years now. Is that enough? No. I am involved in water ceremony weekly and other efforts as able.

In the next few weeks, I'm not exactly sure when my grandson will fly off into space. Why? Because we may need alternative living accommodations in the future he says. Because our earth as we know it is in trouble.

Global warming has been talked about for most of my life. Too much fossil fuel use, I guess. Too much pollution. Too many not doing enough.

I always think, not in my lifetime whenever something new is in the news or scientists are preparing for trips into space. Because my grandson lets me know what he can expect, that isn't confidential of course. So much is.

It is okay with me as I have seen so many changes in my lifetime. The television was new, the party line and then the single line telephone and now Alexa is everywhere in my house. I don't even need a button around my neck for a fall. I just need to holler for Alexa.

And still, I know I do not have all the most recent advances. I don't have a robot to wait on me as my grandson has. Imagine that! He wanted to get me one. I saw how meddling his robot is! No, it is not for me.

He does want me to be connected so he can speak with me from space. I suppose that will be okay. I will let him put in that connection.

Some of us old people can be pretty stubborn. I kept telling him no. Then I thought that it may just be the last time I will see him, as I am old enough that who knows how much longer I will be here! I don't plan to go anywhere soon, but you never know!

So I agreed and it will be hooked up today.

Alexa is making noise right now and putting me through to the grandson. Aniin, what is up? "Aniin Grandma, it is me." Me who? JK, I know who. It is you, the big space cadet!

"Now Grandma, I am just calling to see if the equipment was installed yet and to ask you if I can leave Waldo with you when I am gone. Please Grandma!" the grandson pleaded. Well, how do I say no to that I thought. Did you ask your folks I said. He said, "Yes and they don't like Waldo."

And I do, I thought. Well, okay. But promise me you will adjust him to say very little around me if you can.

"Okay, I will, and Miigwech! I love you! I have to get back to training! We will talk soon!" said the grandson. And then he was off and running. I am so glad I am almost done with this round. I am tired just thinking about all that he is up to.

Chapter Two

Sci Fi
10

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • U.Rdiyaabout a year ago

    Good Story

  • Ashley Shiflett2 years ago

    Very very awesome!

  • This was a very cool story! And I loved the beginning part about karma and reincarnation.

  • Chezney Martin2 years ago

    Great story & so happy to see another Indigenous creator here! Well done :)

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    This was a very enjoyable read. Well done

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Awesome!! Lovely read & story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.