Fiction logo

Yearned for solitude

To trance

By Pauline FountainPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
6
[ Image Pauline Fountain ]

A Facebook Notification and a gasp of delight!

Nils Frahm is coming to Brisbane!

A yearned for night of solitude; she secured a single first class seat.

On emerging from the performance she found herself in the midst.

Time to switch back and hurriedly capture.

Scrawled on the flip-side of the portrait postcard:

‘Post-Frahm’s trance,

I have woken from a spell.

An intoxicating and seamless weave of genres: Contemporary, classical, ambient and electronic.

Glistening drifts to hovering then sways into body pulsing.

A joyful story teller between pieces, his music is generous and assuages pain.’

[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

[ Image : Pauline Fountain ]

*

Nils Frahm’s ‘Says’ 2013:

Microfiction
6

About the Creator

Pauline Fountain

Writing and photography provide a creative outlet to reflect with meaning on my life.

My mental health? Bipolar 1 (Rapid Cycling), Complex PTSD and Functional Neurological Disorder.

My son’s gentle wisdom furnishes me with the gift of hope.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Nicely done.

  • Really great!

  • That music was so soothing and calming! I enjoyed it. Also, such a beautifully written poem!

  • This is a poem, and I love it, yes it is microfiction too. excellent!

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    Wow! I really found this music gorgeously dreamlike 😍 This type of music, I feel, speaks to me at a subconscious level. I tend to enjoy pieces like this while I'm writing to get that "floaty" vibe. I enjoyed your description "Glistening drifts to hovering then sways into body pulsing." Thank you so much for introducing me to it!

  • Andrei Z.11 months ago

    Just listened to some of his pieces. Interesting. Cannot say I really liked it, for me it's too much electronic and ambient, and too little contemporary classical. Also, his music is very static and repetitive. But I see what you mean by ‘Post-Frahm’s trance'. Anyway, thank you for this new to me name!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.