Fiction logo

Wrath of Night Chapter 8

by Alex Kincaid

By Alex KincaidPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1

INT. JAMES'S BEDROOM

James lies awake in bed. His mind in turmoil. Memories of his brother come flooding back. Adam looked out for James -- always had his back. It wasn't easy for James growing up. A blind kid tends to get picked-on and bullied. Adam had a good heart. He deserved vengeance, but recklessly following Alex Kincaid into an unwinnable war didn't seem like the answer.

James's mind is in turmoil.

The doorbell rings, and James opens the front door. To his surprise, Amy Singer was on the other side. Adam's girlfriend, whom he shared a brief moment with at the funeral.

James says her name in shock, "Amy."

Amy replies, "Hi James."

He leads her to the living room. There they sit on the sofa, having coffee.

James explains everything up to that moment.

Amy analyzes the situation, "So, the moment Adam died you suddenly could see again. That's so crazy."

James responds, "Tell me about it."

Amy says, "I'm sorry. I didn't talk to you at the funeral. You just remind me so much of Adam. I couldn't bear it."

James is sympathetic, and replies, "I understand. It's okay."

Amy's hands start to shake. James notices the mug oscillating faster. He places his hand on hers. He takes her cup, and hugs her.

James whispers, "I know. I miss him too."

Amy confesses, "You don't understand. I'm the one that got him killed."

James pulls back, confused.

Amy spills her story, "James, I'm a witch. A dark magic user. There are thousands of us. I practice with my friends. We summon spirits, and let them possess our bodies. Usually for a couple hours, sometimes a day. The rush is incredible. Better than any drug. Most of the time the ghosts, or wraiths, or spirits -- whatever, were harmless. They generally were benevolent. But the night Adam was killed, we called upon a bad one. She was in my life so fast. Before I knew what was happening, she had control. She wanted the pleasures of the flesh.

LENS FLARE

INT. SEEDY MOTEL ROOM - NIGHT - TWO WEEKS AGO

Amy narrates her flashback. She says, "Adam and her made love on the bed in a seedy motel room, while I watched helplessly from inside my own body. She rode him like a cowgirl. Naked bodies in union. But, the spirit had a sinister desire. She wanted blood. After climax, she finally released her grip on my soul, and I collapsed onto Adam's chest. You probably could have seen her spirit leave my body. A green aura flying. I looked up, confused, and rolled off Adam. I clutched the sheets to cover my breasts.

'Adam, where am I?' I asked.

Suddenly a knock at the door. Adam got up and pulled his pants back on.

'Oh God, no. Don't answer it!' I warned, but it was too late.

'Amy, what did you do?' Adam asked, sensing the immediate danger.

Outside the door was a group of SIX RAVENGERS. A demon biker gang, led by the spirit's BOYFRIEND.

Boyfriend knocked again, tapping the barrel of his pistol on the door, 'Can you come out and play?' he laughed.

INT. JAMES'S LIVING ROOM - PRESENT DAY

The flashback ends.

Amy speaks, "There were too many of them to fight off. They dragged Adam into the woods, and murdered him. They killed him, and it's my fault! The Ravengers only left me alive because the wraith wants to use my body again someday. They said they were getting stronger. Said she won't need permission soon."

James takes it all in. He says to Amy, "Amy, it wasn't you. You weren't the one in control. I don't blame you for Adam, but I do need you to do something for me."

"What?" asks Amy.

"Can you bring that spirit back?" James requests.

"I think so," Amy says, "But I can't do the séance by myself."

James smiles, "I think I know someone who can help."

INT KINCAID'S APARTMENT - NIGHT

Kincaid, James and Amy sit around a candlelit table.

"Just so you know," James begins, "Us being here does not mean I'm back on the team. This is about finding the bastards that killed my brother. That's all."

Kincaid replies, "Sure kid. Now, are we going to do this?"

James and Amy nod.

Kincaid commands, "Join hands!"

Amy takes James's hand.

Kincaid states, "I'm permanently half in the Spirit World. If this ghost wants into her body that bad, this should be easy."

Kincaid waves his hand over the candle. The flame comes alive, as the fire becomes a ring. The ring floats above them, into the center of the room.

Kincaid speaks to the void, "We are trying to contact the other side. Guide me to the spirit that inhabited this young woman's soul."

The room begins to shake. Dust falls from the suspended acoustical ceiling tiles. Picture frames fall of the walls.

Kincaid speaks his words louder, "Malevolent one, I command you into the ring!"

Inside the ring of fire, a demonic woman appears.

Kincaid asks Amy, "Is that her?"

Amy nods.

The spirit snarls, "Your flesh will be mine."

Kincaid addresses the wraith, "What is your name, spirit?"

The spirit responds angrily, "I am HELENA. You think this weak magic can hold me?"

Helena breaks free of the ring. She floats above Amy.

"Expirivit Captionem!" Kincaid cries loudly. A binding spell: Latin for 'Ghost Trap'.

Helena gets sucked into Kincaid's chest. The Eye of Osiris glows under his skin.

"What did you do to her?" James asks.

"The Eye of Osiris," Kincaid replies, "It can control the dead. One solo ghost, even a Class 5 free-floating vaporous apparition like Helena, is on the low end of the scale. Relatively easy to trap."

"Thank you," says Amy.

"Okay, so we have her name. Now what?" asks James.

Kincaid replies, "Now, we research."

INT. KINCAID'S APARTMENT - LATER

Amy talks to the guys, "Okay I Googled her. HELENA HARMON. Died in a shootout with the cops just outside town, along with her boyfriend -- LEONARD PAYNE."

She shows them the article on her phone. There's a photo. It's Boyfriend Demon. Amy says, "That's him. That's the guy that killed Adam."

Kincaid asks, "Did they give an address?"

Amy says, "Yes, why? We can't storm the house, there's too many of them."

Kincaid replies, "Not exactly. Here is the next step: find the number in your phone history from that night. Call it. Pretend to be Helena. Say you have fresh meat."

Series
1

About the Creator

Alex Kincaid

Insurance broker by day, mystic by night. Currently living in Alberta, with my wife and children. That is, when I’m not traveling the astral plane.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.