Fiction logo

Word Hunt

By; Kathy Frizzell

By kathyPublished 11 months ago 6 min read
Like
Word Hunter

My words are; Seashell, Map, and Horseshoe.

Horseshoes.

{My name is “Raven-Wolf,” known to have had long flaming blue/green hair, porcelain white skin, dark purple-hourglass eyes, graceful, and to have appeared cold, aloof, and imperious}.

The year was 1813, I was born in a small-town called “KRYNN,” is my hometown, born with “Elves Blood, and some Druid, some would say; {Paladin- Sorcerer,} from my father’s side but I had a dream that I had specialty powers if some would say {Magic, is real or fake in the holder!} I will leave that to fantasy world!

Sitting in my room, daydreaming about little castles, fairies, and Unicorns.

Suddenly, a crash woke me, and my fantasy world disappeared.

Back to reality, a gust of wind hit me like a tun of bricks, followed by my parents calling out my name!

I am here now, looking stunned, and shaken when I was asked to take a seat.

First that came to my mind is that I was in trouble for letting the horses out of barn, then {mum, spoke and said; “we got back the horses, but what are you doing with your life?”}

Looking confused, all I could think of saying, “why?”

Well, you are not a little girl anymore, {yes, you do what are told} but you must start thinking about the future.

That night as I was lying down, my room filled with gray smoke, and turned cold “now I know that I was not alone.”

Was floating off my bed, heading into the unknown, smokey cloud covering me like a blanket, was swept away in a different world and all I could make out was figures.

Walking around to get my bearings, I stumbled upon a little log just as I was about to fall a hand grab to my feet.

About to ask, “who are you” a noise scared him of and now I stand with flickering flashes lighting all around.

Taking cover under a tight hole in the ground, I thought that I would wait till whatever was going on and quieted down a bit.

Then another flash of lighting, I am now standing in a field full of wild horses, watching them for felt like hours, one bent down so that I could ride him, and was beautiful in color.

Break.

As you open the doors to exit this chamber, you feel a sudden surge of wind. They blow off its hinges and your pushback 5 ft., as directly ahead of you is a massive collection of spinning blades 20 ft. In diameter blocking your path.

“Scenario; the court jester who poses this riddle is also an amateur cartographer and would be willing to give a copy of his latest draft of the realm to any who guesses the answer to riddle. It is worth nothing, however that his maps are not exceptionally good.”

Ω I aim to flatten out the ground, and reveal the nature of the ground, should you lose your way {or worse} it is likely that you lost me in the first place! ∞

“Answer; a Map!”
Map and Sea Shells.

Break.

It started to feel like I was waking up.

Rubbing my eyes, I heard in the distance, a voice started talking to me, trying to get my attention, and then a hand reached out then I was wade awake.

A storm was brewing, as I was getting ready, the door flung open, then an Owl flew in and standing on my table?

Myself standing there looking confused?

A voice spoke, it was my Mum!

{what are you doing just standing there?} you are to be getting ready for work on the yard.

Confusion disappearing, looking around, nothing was there but just my mum, “I said, yes ma!” and closed my door to finish getting dressed.

Finishing up breakfast, no words spoken to my parents and not even a grunt from them.

Once I got up to go to the barn, my dad opened his mouth and said, “have been thinking about last night's conversation, this cannot go any further!”

It is time for you to pack your bags and move out.

If this what you feel then, I will leave!

Break.

Up in my room packing, I felt a cool breeze, a cloud rolled in and then a puff of smoke appeared standing in the middle of the room was gate way to the underground?

Hidden Journey

Now my journey is about to happen!

Looking back there was nothing there. So, there was only one way to go and that was forward.

In my hand was the map, in my pocket was a shell and a horseshoe.

In the shadows, appeared to be “gasp, my heart skipped a beat” and trying to catch my breath I moved forward.

Looking up there seemed to be a full moon, walking deeper into the forest stumbled over “putting my hand on the ground, to picking up whatever that was I fall over” it was a skull!

Throwing it back on the ground, wiping the gross felling from that I kept going and then there was a clearing all I could see a run down little cabin.

Till I can get my groundings and thoughts I will make this my space for the time being.

Break.

Making fire claimed to be a chore, but it started to spark, I have fire now, and remembering that I had no food a little panic settled in.

Looking around the cabin in the cupboards, searching for food, “eureka” and now that my belly is full it is time for me to go to sleep!

Through little cracks in cabin the sun shined giving me a burst of energetic charge, now I am wide awake and it is time to head out.

This did not seem familiar to me, it had a eerie feeling and little creepy smell.

One thing I knew for sure this is “KRYNN” anymore!

Walking it for days, I came across a stream of water, something shiny glimmering from the water, I picked it up and noticed it was a beautiful shell.

This was no ordinary shell, something was wrong with it, just then a creature jumped out and startled me.

Cobwebs.

I was covered in webs, then a cloud of mist covered me and then a "crystal of consciousness" trapped me.

{DYNAMIC ELEMENTS; the Crystal of Consciousness becomes more dangerous the longer the trap remains active.

Hours passed, slowly woke up standing over me, holding out his hand to pull me up and swiping the cobwebs off my face no words came out.

Disarming this trap, the man named “Raistlin Sutherland, sat me down, the scene changed, I was in what seemed like a little castle?

Wrapped and snuggled by the fireplace drinking coffee.

There was extraordinarily little lighting in the dining room what I thought was the dining room and “Raistlin; said are you okay?”

All I could do was fall asleep.

The next morning, I woke up looking around my surroundings no one there, found myself wondering around felt creepy and the at the end of the hallway “Raistlin” was waiting for me.

All I have is one question and that is {why are you hiding out in the creepiest part of the forest?}

Condensed version left home with three things in my pocket a horseshoe, seashell, and a map.

Break.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

kathy

My birth name is Kathy Frizzell… but I am known as Chantel. I had a double stroke and with lots of loves it has brought me to telling you my story! I always wanted to be a writer; my role modules are {Stephen King, and fantasy, mystery.}

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.