Fiction logo

Without You: Chapter One

Short-Fiction Series ft. Amaterasu (A Muse)

By Kia JonesPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
5
Without You: Chapter One
Photo by Mahbod Akhzami on Unsplash

Quick Guide: This series is an original work. This piece, and more to follow, stemmed from an idea I had to mix a few of my favorite medias (anime/songs) and my current Muses together to create a short-fiction story.

Summary: The Jade Riders are a well known high school delinquent motorcycle gang. Amaterasu is thrown into their world on whim, and once she makes herself known as the first female member to join the gang, she uses her strength and wits to climb the ranks. But will the secrets she uncovers on her way to the top really be worth it in the end?

Inspiration: Tokyo Revengers (Anime) // "Without You" (The Kid Laroi)

I was never one to believe in heroes. I always lived by the motto that you save yourself because you can't rely on others to save you. I fight everyday to save myself.

And I don't mean metaphorically.

Fists and feet come flying at me everyday. In the hallway at school, in the alleyway on the way home. Sometimes I see them, sometimes they get me from behind. Today, something hit me from behind.

I could hear their heavy, boot-clad footsteps rush up behind me so I spun, swinging my arms up over my face and bringing a knee to my chest. The impact hit my shoulder - it was a booted foot with a strong side kick.

My opposite shoulder slammed into the lockers that I was standing at. The boot pressed into my side, trying to pin me. I hooked my arm under the foot and pushed it off me. The young man yelped as he lost his balance and hit the ground.

"Why you little bit--" He snarled, holding his hand to his nose as he stood back up.

"You'll have to try harder than that." I mocked. A whistle came from behind me. I looked over my shoulder to see a bunch of immature boys staring and laughing. When I looked down, I saw the annoying school uniform skirt I was wearing got messed up in the scuffle. I pat it down back over my butt, ignoring the chorus of "Boo's" that followed.

"I'm gonna teach you not to mess with me." My attacker sneered.

"Oh please, save yourself the mockery and just go about your day. You'll never teach me a lesson and you'll never get a shot off on me." I responded.

He slapped my shoulder, trying to push me back into the lockers. When I didn't budge, he pushed harder. Ducking to avoid his hand, he stumbled forward into the locker instead. I stepped around him, picking up my bag from the floor and walking away.

"Hey, don't walk away from me when I'm talking to you." He called out, running to catch up with me. I ignored him. "Hello? Earth to bitch?" When I still didn't respond, his arm suddenly draped around my shoulders like we were buddies, and he whispered in my ear.

"You do understand that I'm from the Jade Riders, right?" He asked in a softer tone that, I can only assume, was meant to allure.

I shrugged his arm off me. "Yeah, yeah, a gang of high school students who have nothing better to do than beat up on other people. That gang, right?"

"I'm a third year here which means I hold a lot of power in the Jaders." He said. I rolled my eyes. "I'm just saying, you should learn to respect me. I even know the leader of the Jade Riders personally."

"Here's an idea, bring your boss here. Let's see what he has to say about that, hmm?" I shoved his arm off me and slipped into the classroom before he could say another word. The nerve of that guy... I thought. All because I wouldn't go to prom with him.

The rest of the day went off without a hitch. I finished my last few classes, emptied my unwanted books into my locker, and walked home. All without so much as a glance from any of the gang members. I should have been relieved. For once in my high school career I should have been carefree.

I was not.

The next day was Saturday and the hairs on the back of my neck were standing up all morning. Something was about to go down, I could feel it. The cool breeze came in through my window as I got dressed. Jeans, a t-shirt and a light hoodie. Inconspicuous...right?

It didn't matter. He could still probably pick me out in a crowd with how much he stares at my ass. I grabbed my purse and my grocery bags to set out for the fresh market. A glint caught my eye at the door and I looked down on my stool to see my pocket knife.

"It couldn't hurt," I snatched it and tossed it in the pocket of my hoodie. "just to be safe."

I made it only a couple hundred feet from my house when two people exited an alleyway to trail behind me. I carefully slipped my hand into my pocket, opening my knife while it was concealed. Whoever they were weren't very good at trailing. I could hear everything they did; whispers, footsteps, shuffling around in their pockets.

I turned the corner and once I was fully behind the wall, I spun back to the entrance. Two seconds later, they rounded the corner as well. I flashed my knife in front of them.

"If you've got business with me, be quick and concise or you might end up getting cut." I threatened. Two men with blond hair stood in front of me. One of them was shorter than the other, but he stood in front, shoulders proud.

"A girl?" The short one raised a brow. His mild flinch showed surprise more than fear. "That dumbass, Cline, got his ass whooped by a girl?"

The man behind him chuckled. "I knew that guy was wimp, but this a new low for him acting like it was the end of the world."

"Next time we see him, he's not apart of the gang anymore." The short one said to his friend. "Well," He raised a hand to me and offered a smile. "sorry to bother you. Cline hopefully will leave you alone after this." He turned to go.

"Hold on," I spoke up, keeping my knife at the ready. "...that's it?"

"That's it." He said.

"Who are you?" I asked hesitantly.

"Forgive me, I didn't introduce myself. I'm Nikki. This is Ewan." They both offered a bow. I lowered my knife upon hearing their polite introduction.

"Sorry for staring that's just...not what I expected."

"Did you expect to get a beat down from some fat lard with no physical ability to back it up?" He chuckled.

"More or less, considering..." I trailed off, thinking of Cline who, almost perfectly, fit that description.

"Sorry to disappoint," He flaunted a smirk. "I don't hit women."

"Is that suppose to impress me? Make it seem like you have at least half a moral compass?" I questioned.

He raised a hand to his chest, mockingly doubling over in pain. "Ouch." He huffed. His friend--Ewan, was it?--only chuckled behind him. Nikki straightened and offered a hand to me, "And you are?"

I ignored his hand and his question as I put my knife away. Nikki awkwardly dropped it as his friend stifled yet another laugh.

"I don't suppose you would be down to join the Jade Riders?" He tried to regain his composure.

I laughed. "Are you mocking me now? Everyone knows Jade Riders is a male only gang. It may not be a written rule but like hell the leader of that gang would ever allow that."

The two of them shared a glance. With that glance, I felt as though they had some kind of telepathic conversation. Nikki turned back to me. "I could ask him? He and I go way back you could say."

I blew them off. "Yeah that's what Cline said. Instead look what happened, he sent two other higher rank lackeys to beat me up. And I'm betting he also lied about, or didn't mention, my gender considering your reaction when you saw me."

Ewan lifted a finger in a response that was meant to correct me. Nikki raised a hand to quiet him. "Spot on," He said. "but I'm not a sad sob like Cline who can't handle himself against a woman. I could actually get you in if you really wanted." His tone held a gentle sincerity to it.

I didn't want to admit it, but it sounded...appealing. Not only because I could stick it to Cline, but also because the rest of the gang members at school might finally leave me alone.

That, and maybe I could finally... My thoughts trailed off when Nikki cleared his throat.

"Well?" He asked.

"Bring me your boss, let me fight him, then we'll talk." I bargained. It came out without thinking and mostly because of a whim that popped into my head while staring at the men in front of me.

They both were stunned. Nikki clamped his mouth shut to keep from gawking. I could hear his teeth clack together when he did. "Deal." He said with a smug grin.

"Nikki-" His friend was not pleased with this response. That only proved to me how impossible it would actually be.

Set the standards high and watch them struggle to meet it.

"We'll get him to agree with it. When and where do you want it to go down?" He asked.

I laughed at his enthusiasm. "Come find me when you actually get your boss to agree. Something tells me its not going to be easy." I gave a glance up at Ewan whose expression still held an air of displeasure. "I assume you know where I live right? If you don't just ask Cline; he stalks me so he knows everything about me."

I turned on my heel to leave. I had errands to run and I had wasted enough time talking with these two.

"Wait--you never told me your name?" He asked again, an arm outstretched to me. I turned to face him. I had hoped I could get away without saying it. But what harm could it do?

"Amaterasu."

"Sir name?" He pressed.

"Don't have one. Just Amaterasu."

I turned back again and quickly made way to the market that stood just across the busy street. Only when I was sure I was out of sight, did I stop to look back at the corner.

They were gone. Phew. I felt my cheeks; they were warm. Blushing? Because of a guy? Man up Amaterasu, I smacked my cheeks lightly. don't be foolish.

Young Adult
5

About the Creator

Kia Jones

I'm a writer and a Martial Artist. I blend my love of fiction writing with the knowledge I gain on my Martial Arts journey. Fiction is my passion but I love to post lifestyle and video content too!

Find me on patreon @ alifeofvalor

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.