Fiction logo

Wish Upon a Starfish

The best place to find a solemate

By Dan Ormerod Published about a year ago 4 min read
Like
Wish Upon a Starfish
Photo by chandra Mohan singh on Unsplash

Aster: Are you looking for someone?

Herman: What? No… I'm just on my lunch break.

Aster: My name is Aster by the way, mind if I join you?

Herman: Not at all, I'm Herman.

Aster: You're new here aren't you?

Herman: Yeah, I just started last week. I'm the new custodian. I took over for…

Aster: Barry. He was getting up there, long overdue for retirement. So, how are you liking it?

Herman: I love it here. It's so peaceful. All the fish and marine life living together in harmony. Even the corals and plants are beautiful - an exotic world of vivid colour for all to see.

Aster: Yes it's a very tranquil setting. Not a bad place to make a living.

Herman: How about you, worked here long?

Aster: Not long enough - I have a while to go before I can retire anytime soon.

Herman: I've seen you around a couple of times before, what department are you in?

Aster: I take care of all the glass.

Herman: There's a lot of that around here.

Aster: Tell me about it. I barely have time to get everything cleaned once, before I have to start the whole process over again.

Herman: Sounds tedious.

Aster: It's not so bad, not everyone has a job with a great view!

Herman: Well, I'm just happy to be a part of the team.

Aster: So what were were you looking for, because it was pretty obvious you were searching for something?

Herman: Nothing - it's stupid.

Aster: I doubt that. Come on, tell your new best friend all about it.

Herman: Well, “best friend,” a couple of days ago I was working and I saw her standing over…

Aster: Ahhh, I get it now, you're searching for love.

Herman: If you're just going to make fun of me -

Aster: Sorry, sorry. I was just teasing. Please continue.

Herman: I was completely smitten. I had to pinch myself. Long legs, piercing eyes and a shapely body - it was love at first sight. Well, for me anyways. I'm not sure she even knows I exist.

Aster: Why not?

Herman: I was about to make my way over to introduce myself when a huge crowd came through. She was swept up in the shuffle. I waved desperately and was pretty sure I caught her eye. “Meet me by the starfish,” I hollered, just before I lost sight of her. I don't even know if she heard me.

Aster: Did she wave back?

Herman: I think so… I don't know. It all happened so fast. She was there and then she was gone. I was working at the time so I couldn't very well scurry after her, but maybe I should have. I've been coming back here for my lunch break ever since, hoping to see her again.

Aster: It's only been a few days. Don't give up hope, she may show up.

Herman: That would be my wish. Well, I guess I had better get back at it - these pebbles aren't going to clean themselves.

Aster: Break over so soon? I'll get started back on this glass.

Herman: At least you don't have a long commute when your shift is over - you're already home!

Aster: Haha, very funny. It's not like I haven't heard that one a thousand times before.

Herman: How about this one then - You could get your job done much quicker if you didn't work at a snail's pace.

Aster: Somebody's a little crabby today.

Herman: Way to state the obvious. Don't get me too upset or I'll steal your house!

Aster: I think you're going to fit in here just fine Herman. It was nice meeting you.

Herman: Nice meeting you too, Aster.

Aster: See you back here tomorrow at lunch break?

Herman: I'd like that.

Aster: Who knows, maybe tomorrow will be the day your wish comes true?

* * * * *

“Look mommy, that little crab looks just like Sebastion!”

The woman looked past the snail ascending the glass of the aquarium to see a little crab sidling towards the center of the tank. She smiled at her daughter, “He does, doesn't he?”

The little girl pressed the plastic crab ring her mother purchased from the gift shop against the glass. "Say hi, Sebastion."

“Don't tap the glass, sweetie.”

The little crab stopped in its tracks and turned back towards the front of the glass. The little girl held her ring at the level of its living counterpart. The little crab slowly approached, waving its main claw back and forth frantically.

“I think they are friends, mommy.”

“I think so too, sweetie.”

“Can we see the dolphins now?”

"Sure."

The little girl scampered off, spinning the plastic ring on her finger as she went.

* * * * *

The little crab in the aquarium waved at the glass for a time. Eventually, it slowly turned and walked past the starfish, picking up pebbles, cleaning them, and putting them down again.

HumorShort StoryLove
Like

About the Creator

Dan Ormerod

I love to tell tall tales. I've determined that I am left with two career choices - a writer or a fisherman. If you like a little humour tucked in with your tale, give my stories a try. If things don't work out, I'm buying a boat.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Savannah Svetaabout a year ago

    Aww, what a cute story! Poor little crab. Thank you for writing this and sharing it with us!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.