Fiction logo

Wise Words from Indecent Men

Act I

By Nigel WrightPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I, Myself

Mr Rage (OG RAKIM HUSSEIN EL HAKIM)

Mr Spirit (DR. ROBERT MARBURY)

Mr Body (RAPPER BEST FRIEND)

Mr Peace (FATHER DEAREST)

Mr Mind (GOD)

Mr RAGE vs MYSELF

EXT. GREENWICH VILLAGE AREA , NY

V.O

I, MYSELF, is walking in the neighborhood with Mr. Rage, a black man, older gentleman with a tall dark brown suit is holding a cup of coffee wearing a white netted kufi.

I, MYSELF, left a tie at home. Blazer, black on black. I kept it causal for the sake of conversation.

MR. RAGE

What’s the problem with America… You aren’t given the right of privilege for the country you worked for.

I, MYSELF

Yes indeed.

MR RAGE

It’s during these times specifically that you choose to come see me.

I, MYSELF

I, myself I am still trying to hold on to the past which is my problem.

MR RAGE

You already know that’s the problem with us right. Notice how brown liquor and stories really gives us generations of a standard of black living and dying.

I, MYSELF

It’s like that saying “we can never leave home”

MR RAGE

We are never left alone. So then what are you to do my brother.

I, MYSELF

But see I, Myself I never understood why, the more I tried to fathom life, my freedom, the more I grew tired? It will twist you so bad, this world when you’re alone standing for what is right.

MR RAGE:

I just wish you could argue when spoken to and not feel like a threat or an enemy, like to walk into a bank and get the same opportunity as a robber with a different colored gun.

I, MYSELF

There’s no more corners, no more black, no more establishment. What do we have left besides the image they designed for us. That’s what we live off of, those crumbs.

It’s sick, you know, they give me the tools for retribution. It’s like my fear is two fold, only fear at this point is death or jail.

Mr. RAGE

And guaranteed there’s a judge that is waiting to give you 15 to life. But you don’t want to hurt anybody, that’s your problem. Too focused on everyone else’s opinion my brother. Let’s turn this way.

V.O

I, Myself and Mr. Rage turn the corner. As his coffee turns cold, he tosses it.

EXT. WEST SIDE RIVERFRONT - CONTINUOUS, ESTABLISHING

V.O

I, Myself and Mr. Rage pass through incoming joggers, bikers, etc.

I find a bench and grab my seat. Mr. Rage takes a seat beside.

MR. RAGE

All those times, awkward conversations with yourself, the times you worry that your wife is having an affair with someone you know…

INSERT— Graphic sexual take between I, Myself’s wife and a stranger.

MR. RAGE

… But to another man’s life.

I, MYSELF

It’s one of those things you just have to do.

Mr. Rage

Don’t sit here and pretend to act you’re still some boy. Do you consider yourself a man or a gangster.

I, MYSELF

I guess I’m both.

Mr. RAGE

So listen to me. There are plenty of men who decided between the world, themselves and their family. A Gangster only cares for himself to protect his family. A man protects his family because he cares for others.

I, MYSELF

You act like I can get up and just leave everything I built. They’re watching me. Everyday.

I, MYSELF I begin to rage, more of in a sense of guilt and hatred for my position in life. The sense of feeling that I was given the tools to make these choices.

I, MYSELF

OFF-SCRIPT

MR. RAGE

I’m asking you to chose one.

I, MYSELF

Choose What?

MR. RAGE

Death or Jail… which one?

I Myself, I take out a cigarette before I decide on such a brash decision.

End of Scene.

Script
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.