Fiction logo

Wisdom from a Bear and his friends.

What Winnie the Pooh taught me.

By Rose Loren Geer-RobbinsPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

Growing up, you can say that I was not popular. It was a bit of a rough patch for me- those school-age days. I wore braces and glasses. I was socially awkward and never invited to birthday parties. I wanted to be good at school, but it was hard. I wanted to be athletic, but I did not have the genes for it. I wanted to be artistic but never really stood out as having ability. As a result, I am not even a memory to my fellow students.

This painful confession carried forward throughout most of my adult life.

However, what I was good at was reading and writing. In books and my journal- worlds opened up to me that made sense. The people were friendly. I was the hero. I was pretty. I was popular. I was athletic. I was invited to friends' houses for dinners and drinks. They were amazing worlds!

As I have grown older and still write, the worlds I have created have narrowed down, and I have found that one place stands out to me more than any other. That one place where I found my happiest thoughts and memories- standing on a bridge playing Pooh Sticks with my friends from the 100 Acre Woods.

Looking back- Winnie the Pooh and his friends provided me with words of wisdom and comfort that I have carried throughout my life. Words that I did not realize had any impact on me- but there they lie, a shimmer of happiness and motivation to keep moving forward.

'It never hurts to keep looking for sunshine'- Eeyore.

It doesn't hurt. Someone once told me that I try too hard to find goodness in people. I think they meant it as a slight insult- like I am naive of the reality of this world. But I don't believe that I am. I believe that I can acknowledge that bad things happen to people, like my friend Eeyore, but that doesn't mean that it is the end of the world. It just means everyone has to have someone who believes in them.

'When you are a Bear of Very Little Brain, and you Think of Things, you find sometimes that a Thing which seemed very Thingish inside you is quite different when it gets out into the open and has other people looking at it.'- Winnie the Pooh.

As a writer and passionate about all things historical- I write down strange, engaging, and sometimes sad events that have happened. I get so involved in the research and creating a story to tell- that I sometimes get my feelings hurt that no one reads them. But, Winnie the Pooh...he understands. Sometimes the things that we are passionate about are not another person's cup of tea. That is okay! As long as you never stop thinking of things....

'If the person you are talking to doesn't appear to be listening, be patient. It may simply be that he has a small piece of fluff in his ear.'- Winnie the Pooh

My fellow writers- never have more valid words been spoken than these. I know that a majority of us are waiting for that big break. That moment when you get the phone call that your life's work is meaningful and engaging- and where do you want them to send the check? Sometimes, our books/journals/poetry/blogs have not been heard by the right person. Don't give up! Keep writing....because maybe that following email will be from the person who didn't have fluff in their ears!

'What's wrong with knowing what you know now and not knowing what you don't know until later?'- Winnie the Pooh.

I always feel like I am one step behind the world, mainly as I research and write. I never know what new iPhone is out, who is on the shit-list as far as politicians, or what new gadget has been created that will clean my house while I am sleeping. I do not know the name of actors/actresses, but I can tell you what movies I do and do not like (if I remember the titles). I haven't even read all the classics yet (don't tell anyone). But, I know that at one point- I will know. And there is nothing wrong with that! So, tomorrow is an excellent day for learning more...

'I always get to where I'm going by walking away from where I have been.' - Winnie the Pooh

And finally, I may not have been athletic, popular, artistic, brilliant, or even remarkable while growing up. But, I am those things now. I walked away from the thoughts that I was not good enough. Those are past thoughts and not my present.

So when life gets too much, head to a local bridge and find your favorite stick. Stand on one side and think about everything that you want to change. Then, throw it into the river and run to the other side. As your stick floats by you...remember, that stick is further now than it ever was before. It is no longer just sitting in one place.

It is on its next great adventure- and so are you!

Humor
1

About the Creator

Rose Loren Geer-Robbins

One does not simply become a famous writer! It takes many hours before the sun comes up and even more when the sun sets. I am never sure what world I am living in, the one that I am writing about or reality.

www.wannabehistorian.blog

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.