Fiction logo

Winter's Majesty

A walk through Winter's wonders

By SamiPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
2
Winter's Majesty
Photo by Kym MacKinnon on Unsplash

A hush falls over my little world. The fresh blanket of snow damping the noise from the outside world. I leave my warm, cozy, little cabin on the mountainside to explore the wintry wonderland. I take a deep breath, and watch as my exhale fades into nothing. The world feels newer with the pristine white snow reflecting the full moon's light. Filled with possibilities and renewed energy.

I step down into the snow, sinking to my knees. I tell myself I will not go far into the wilderness surrounding my cabin, just enough to find inspiration. As quietly as I can I trudge through the snow, watchful of snow drifts. Trying to keep my breathing light, so not to startled the wild things that share the mountainside. The quiet is punctuated by the screech of a barn owl, the howl of a grey wolf talking with the man on the moon. I make my way towards the mountain stream, guided by the sounds of the water rushing over ice and rocks. The water too fluid and full of movement to fully freeze.

I pause and let the babbling of the stream calm me. Looking towards a clearing, I spot the careful movements of a deer. A rare white stage steps into the clearing, the moonlight glinting off his coat and antlers. We stare at each other, the unspoken understanding that we do not mean each other harm. I return to the cabin and with oil and brush create Winter's Majesty.

AdventureShort StoryMicrofiction
2

About the Creator

Sami

There are scenes that play out in my head that need an outlet. Is practical for real life, probably not, but to free space I have to put the virtual pen to paper.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 3 months ago

    I loved this so much, so much depth to so little words

  • ROCK 3 months ago

    Good luck in the micro-fiction challenge! I gave up wandering into the forest no matter how bright the moon:)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.