Fiction logo

Whiteout

What a rush

By Alexander McEvoyPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
11
Whiteout
Photo by Karsten Winegeart on Unsplash

Sun shone off the pure-white snow at the mountain's top, making my eyes water even behind my tinted goggles.

"Don't be such a baby," Nick skied past, barely seeming to touch the snow. Backwards. Show off. "You've got this! Come on!" And he was off, all but bombing the slope.

Meh, what the Hell? I dug my poles in and followed, carving through the powder in long, gentle curves.

Coming around a corner, I threw a glance upwards, into the clear, blue sky, then back down at a mottled white-grey wall that suddenly blanketed the slopes below me. Nick whooped, vanishing completely into the cloud.

Snow flared out before as I came to a hard stop, meters from the seemingly impenetrable wall. A voice at the back of my head screamed at me, trying to convince me that this was suicide. But my Tookish spirit won out, and I turned my skis, taking the plunge.

It was dead silent in that grey-white world. Even the cold was forgotten, the only sensation the snow under my skis. Carving wide arcs through fresh powder, I brought my hand up before my face and couldn't see it. Neat.

Then I punched through into the maelstrom.

Violent winds howled, trying to force me down the mountain faster. Faster. Before my eyes was only the storm. Snow lashed my exposed skin, my eyes completely blind. A manic grin broke out across my face. The mountain was challenging me, and I wasn't about to back down.

MicrofictionHolidayAdventure
11

About the Creator

Alexander McEvoy

Writing has been a hobby of mine for years, so I'm just thrilled to be here! As for me, I love writing, dogs, and travel (only 1 continent left! Australia-.-)

I hope you enjoy what you read and I can't wait to see your creations :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Liam Storm3 months ago

    Amazing how well you've captured skiing, I have done a season abroad in Chamonix, France, and it took me right back! I have been recommended you by another author and I would love it if you were able to check out any of my pieces, and provide constructive criticism. I am fairly new to vocal, and would love to write to an audience of more than just one or two! No worries if not!

  • Gosh this gave me so much of anxiety, lol! Your story kept me at the edge of my seat. Loved it!

  • Mark Gagnon3 months ago

    Only back down if you lose! Well told.

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    I was convinced you were going to crash!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.