Fiction logo

White

There no turning back

By David E. PerryPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
3
White
Photo by Zac Durant on Unsplash

There are some missions that are so important that once you start, you can’t go back. This was one of those missions. I was chosen, hand-picked, out of a group of 5 individuals because I was the strongest person for the job. At least that’s what they tell me. I believe that they chose me because I was the only one dumb enough to do it.

I started out about 3:00 PM. I put on 2 extra pairs of pants, my boots, a jacket, and my coat. I zipped up the 2 zippers and buttoned up the coat. I put on my thick wool hat and wrapped a scarf around my neck. Before stepping outside, I made sure that my ears were covered with earmuffs. I opened and closed the door quickly so that as little snow as possible would get inside.

My destination was only reachable by foot. No car or bike could make this trip. So, I started walking. The snow was pounding on my face. I fell only seconds into this mammoth journey. It was only with the help of God that I was able to stand back up. I continued. All I could see was white. Maybe a shadow in the distance. That is what I focused my eyes on.

The snow was falling hard enough to cover my steps as I walked. But I had to get there. My mission was too important. Finally, I made it to the mailbox. Now, I must head back.

Short StoryMicrofictionHumorAdventure
3

About the Creator

David E. Perry

Writing gives me the power to create my own worlds. I'm in control of the universe of my design. My word is law. Would you like to know the first I ever wrote? Read Sandy:

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Zachary Keifer3 months ago

    Well done! "I was chosen, handpicked, out of 5 individuals" was quite funny on the re-read.

  • Penny Fuller3 months ago

    I laughed out loud at this! Nice work!

  • Natasha Collazo4 months ago

    Oh. My. Gosh. The twist had me almost fall out of my seat. You got me good! I was so into this treacherous journey 😂 Nicely done

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.