Fiction logo

Whispers of Shadows: A Tale of Intertwined Predators Among the Sighing Trees

A Brief Tale For The Soul

By Muhammad ShoaibPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
1

She is nestled up in the brambles, silent and calm, and at full draw.

She grazes the luscious, green grass while being wild, bushy-tailed, and giddy with incompetence.

I use my dominant eye to focus. The bow's weight on my finger felt like wind.

(At that point, I see you because my eye catches yours.)

I mumble, "Hello, dear friend," but I have to ask: Are we really friends?

Sadly, this is where our kismets coincide.

We are two predatory queens with one prey here, among the sighs of the trees, where sunshine dances between regions of hidden, untrodden passageways.

And,

My stomach remains empty, though, as you lead her into your labyrinth here, among the moans of the trees.

"My heart fills up,"

Mystery
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.