Fiction logo

Whispers of Reflection

A Solitary Journey

By Emad BlakePublished 4 months ago 1 min read
1
I must try to pass this moment and look into my day Photo: Sloom Ibrahim

There is a man who lives alone in a hut in the forest in peace and with no troubles. One day, a sudden loud shout bombarded his mind. He looked around to see what was going on, but there was nothing; only the blue sky over the green trees. He said to himself, ‘It is only the sound of my heart; maybe I am so tired, and for that reason, I heard this strange voice.’

But when he thought deeply within himself, he found that he was not tired; instead, he was full of activity and the will to do a lot this day. So, he started to say again to himself, ‘Is this voice like my dead father's rhythm?’

Something unusual happened when he realized it was very difficult to remember his father’s voice; he had even forgotten his face. That was strange and unbelievable. He tried again and again, but with his bad memory, he was lost.

Then he said, ‘I must try to pass this moment and look into my day; this shout is from the devil. He wants me to waste my time.’

The man couldn’t trust in people who think about the devil, and he believed only in God. Even though God created Satan, the story is not as we imagine; it was told to us to flourish our minds and gave us a way to know there is both good and bad in life.

Lastly, the man was very exhausted thinking, and he said, ‘I must sleep because there is my land of rest, my real life, where I can find the answer.’

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Emad Blake

Emad Blake is a Sudanese writer with various published books, mainly novels, he works as a journalist based in London.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    Wonderful

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.