Fiction logo

Which Animal Do You See First?

Another test of your cognition and perception skills

By Lana V LynxPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - March 2024
42
Who do you see first?

This is another item on the famous "Hidden Figures" test in cognitive psychology that is used to evaluate people's dependency on the field of information around them and their prevalent type of intelligence - Crystalline (vertical thinking, associated with traditional step-by-step problem solving) or Fluid (lateral thinking, associated with creative, out-of-the-box problem solving).

If you see a monkey first, this is indicative that you have vertical thinking as more dominant. If you see the tiger's profile first, it's an indicator of your lateral thinking abilities. If you figured them both out almost at the same time, you are good in both types of thinking.

While this image should be used with caution for assessing Fluid vs Crystalline Intelligence (in a lab, the Hidden Figures test includes over 30 images and is equipped with eye-tracking software to measure how fast and where you move your eyes while evaluating the images), it's nearly a perfect illustration, simply thanks to the depiction of animals (the monkey is vertical and the tiger is horizontal) of the vertical vs. horizontal thinking.

Take it with a grain of salt. I've found solace in the fact that I saw both almost at the same time.

My other story from the same series:

HumorPsychologicalMicrofiction
42

About the Creator

Lana V Lynx

Avid reader and occasional writer of satire and short fiction. For my own sanity and security, I write under a pen name. My books: Moscow Calling - 2017 and President & Psychiatrist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (29)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶2 months ago

    Like you, I saw both almost at the same time… tiger first and then monkey. The other picture: I always see the old woman first then take a while to see the young woman… I suspect my focus prefers white rather than black.

  • I saw both and two others one maybe human and the other a dog or a bear, interesting piece

  • Mark Gagnon2 months ago

    I must have a one track brain because all I see is the monkey. Congrats on TS!

  • Novel Allen2 months ago

    Where is the tiger...I think you see both better on a larger screen. Then both will jump out at you. I have seen these posted a lot and follow them somewhat. Kudos on TS.

  • Lana, you started a fascinating discussion among readers with this exam! I noticed the monkey initially, but it's amazing to see how various people interpret the same image.

  • Alex H Mittelman 2 months ago

    Monkey first 😅 lol

  • Leslie Writes2 months ago

    Fun. I saw the monkey first. Isn’t there a horse on the right too though?

  • L.C. Schäfer2 months ago

    I saw the monkey initially, but as soon as the picture was bigger, the tiger jumped out 😁

  • Rebekah Crawley2 months ago

    Monkey - I still can't see the Tiger even after knowing it's there haha, not sure what that says about me!

  • Tiffany Gordon 2 months ago

    Curious George 1st Tony the Tiger 2nd Neat exercise! Interesting & enjoyable article!

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    Monkey first for me. Then tiger but I had to look for it. Interesting, these picture things, Lana. Great article.

  • ema2 months ago

    That's interesting! I just can see the monkey, finally I saw the tiger just because you explain how in other comments 😳

  • A. J. Schoenfeld2 months ago

    I saw the Monkey first until I read the title and then immediately saw both.

  • Davina Zinn McKee2 months ago

    No matter how much I look at this, I only see a monkey.

  • Mackenzie Davis2 months ago

    Ooh yes another one! I saw the monkey first. Had to have my husband point out the tiger, lol. But he saw the monkey first too, though just barely. I’m wary of tests like this meaning anything significant, to be honest. They’re fun though!

  • Kodah2 months ago

    I saw both, but I felt more drawn to the monkey. I always find these sorts of psychological imagery so strange to me. Sometimes when it says "which one do you see first" I always see more than one! 😂

  • Lily Séjor2 months ago

    I saw the monkey, then the frog right under it. I only saw the tiger after learning there was one.

  • Lamar Wiggins2 months ago

    I saw the monkey first. For me, I think it was partly due to the fact that my brain wants to identify with the darker markings to try and figure those out first. Nice trick! And thanks for sharing!

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Kelly Sibley 2 months ago

    oooo there's an elephant as well!

  • Kelly Sibley 2 months ago

    These pictures make me feel a bit nauseous; my brain keeps flicking between the two images. Very interesting!!

  • Jasmine Aguilar2 months ago

    Very intriguing! I saw the monkey first. It took me a moment to see the tiger.

  • Judey Kalchik 2 months ago

    Monkey first, Lion next (must be those Detroit football players till on my mind- I see lions all over) Cool article.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.