Fiction logo

Where You’re Supposed To Be

Every thing happens for a reason…

By Alexis Dean Jr.Published 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
Like
Where You’re Supposed To Be
Photo by Sir Manuel on Unsplash

My mother woke me urgently, then said I love you with urgency

So I could tell that certainly, there had to be an emergency

I sat there worriedly, as she found all the words to speak

Usually she speaks perfectly, always with much certainty

My mother (always nurturing), struggled to even turn to me

This wait was like torturing, I just wanted to go to sleep

And dream all my hopeless dreams, of my mother opening

Her heart to my father, so he can come back home to be

The one I didn’t go to see, on weekends when we both were free

Just yesterday he was close to me, and now I’ll mope here for a week

I told mother LET GO OF ME, and asked why she’s controlling me

Why my father can’t get the most of me, and only gets a dose of me

She stared at me hopelessly, I’ve never seen her froze and weak

She wiped her eyes and told to me, last night there was a burglary

Your father was murdered by the streets, my heart was broke in every piece

My mother cried uncontrollably, and said Son you’re where you’re supposed to be

familyShort StoryLove
Like

About the Creator

Alexis Dean Jr.

Alexis “L.E.X” Dean Jr. is a clean Hip-Hop artist, poet, and educator from Milwaukee, WI. As a writer and music artist, he focuses on the importance of educating through his words and stories...

IG: @DreamsStartYoung

DreamsStartYoung.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.