Fiction logo

Where Am I?

Lost

By Cathy DeslippePublished 2 years ago 6 min read
1
Lost In The Birch Forest

I had planned to travel, to see the world. Destined at the age of 19. I packed my backpack and set out to discover what I thought would be magical.

Yes magical, where I could dance in the streets. Listen to bands in the park. Most of all , getting a glimps of how other cultures lived.

I had been doing a lot of research, looking at shelters, train stations and of course a few bed and breakfasts. Looking over my budget ,I really wanted to have everything worked out. I also struggle with the fact of where would I get food and how much it would cost.

Farming Foods Everywhere

When I looked it up on the internet , I came across farmers who had markets set up all over the world. Right here in my hometown of “Oh My Deer”, we had one.

They gave me all the information that I would require, also a little snack pack for the road. My favourite was the fresh berries. Majority of them were all over my face.

By Elena Leya on Unsplash

Packed And Ready To Go

Kissed my loved ones goodbye, gave them a map ,much like mine so they had an idea of where I might be. Also sent it up on the phone.

Than off I headed to Abi, where I would hook up on a train to take me to Riley.

Riley was well known for manufacturing sugar. I was looking forward to watching them pull the sugar canes from the fields.

Wandering around Riley, I was hoping to get a feel for entertainment and of course cuisine.

Well I wandered and wandered, from five to eight in the evening, only to find out Riley had closed up for the evening. Time for them to rest and rise early to work. Apparently they enjoyed the afternoons to socialize.

As for me,I had no place to go, so I climbed up high and slept in an Angel tree. I found a tree fort, not bad and brought back memories of my childhood.

By Nick Seagrave on Unsplash

Wow, This Map Is Confusing?

From one side of the map to the other, turning it in different directions, I was trying to find a place called Somewhere. Well after sipping from my thermos ,a nice black coffee I found Somewhere, it was off in the mountains ,so I had to run to the bus as fast as I could ( only one bus comes a day). Once on the journey it would take eight hours to get there. Enough time to research the place, the places to go and oh how I needed to bathe, the smell of only one days travelling was getting the best of me.

I Found Somewhere

Somewhere was so beautiful. Mountains filled with lots of trees, wildlife and best of all the bus station had showers.

All cleaned up and ready for the evening, I set out to eat and dance.

My evening was fun, fresh food from my “Farming Foods Everywhere”, a stroll in the village below and listening to a banjo band who played in the park.

Laying back, my pack back as a pillow, looking into the night sky, the stars scattered everywhere. Drifting off for an hour or two, I felt so unbelievably fantastic.

By Jeremy Thomas on Unsplash

Next Stop -Of Course

Of Course was a big hot sandy place. I had arranged for a camel to pick me up. I knew with the heat the walking would be very difficult.

Beautiful Carmel coloured sand everywhere. Cactuses at least seven feet tall. It was like nothing I could ever imagine. Now on this journey I had booked myself a nice cooling spa after I rode the camel around Of Course.

Beautiful silk fashions and cotton too. I had to purchase for the days ahead. Now the music played here was that of the flute and bangles. The women were so pretty and so caring.

At the spa they cared for me in such a kind and nurturing way. It was the best thing I had ever done for myself. With the journey ahead I felt so great ,leaving there I had to keep travelling.

By Sammy Leigh Scholl on Unsplash

Welcome To Out There

Out There, was a big city. I had to travel to this destination to see what was new and what was out there.

The city was very modern , yet you could see the classical 50s and 60s appear in several places.

I booked into a Bed and Breakfast, needing a really good sleep and planned to stay for a week or two.

Let the adventures begin. Cuisine was rather interesting, you could eat anything at all times. The city had a market so I purchased a large quantity of food for my room.

So much to see, so much to do and that was my goal.

The plans were exploring companies that were hiring millwrights, yes this is what I went to school for.

Years back my dad and I had built a helicopter. There were no tools that I didn’t want to use, also on an adventure to purchase a few new ones.

Wow,I dropped off resumes. I felt really good about the interviews and yes my qualifications were exactly what they were looking for.

After doing that, on one of my interviews , I was told of a nightclub of dining and dancing. I couldn’t wait to get out there and do the two step shuffle.

By Zacke Feller on Unsplash

What a fantastic trip. I even have a job at one of the biggest companies in Out There, everything I could ever dream of was right there.

All Of A Sudden

Now All Of A Sudden was miles and miles away. Across the ocean we travelled in a 747. It was a bit of a ride but if you love the rides at fairs you would have loved this ride.

All Of A Sudden is a very beautiful place, there is no hydro, nor running water. Candles are used for light, wood in the fireplace to cook and boil water to bathe or do your dishes.

I still had some of the food from The Farming Foods Everywhere, yet I destined to find a place to stay.

The only shelter was a barn filled with pigs. It was comfy but I chuckled to hear the pigs grunt.

Wandering around I purchased a hand made quilt and then I just kept walking.

Nibbling on berries and nuts, singing a song I wandered into a beautiful birch forest. Off the track, not knowing where I would end up.

Birds chirping, deers running and a waterfall not so far away.

The waterfall was wonderful and yet this is where “Lost” was.

By Ethan Sykes on Unsplash

A handsome six foot gentlemen, named Lost.

Lost, much like I, had wanted to see the world, a backpack on his back, a few bags of food. We had so much in common.

Laying on my new quilt we sat and shared photos of our journeys. The best part was that Lost was from “Out There”, where I would be moving to.

Lost and I continued the journey together. It was so much fun to have someone share the journey with me. Having so much in common.

Better yet I loved Lost, who would ever thought that by going off the map, by feeling alone , not knowing where I was. Love found me.

Lost fell in love with me to.

By Everton Vila on Unsplash

Adventure
1

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.