Fiction logo

When the world was no more

the world as we know it is gone

By Lena BaileyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

We were living in a world back that was put back in order after covid then something..... happened. I was asleep one night when I felt the earth shake hard for a split second. I woke up with a start. There was another shake and a flash. I went to the window and it was very hard to put it into words. There was selective destruction, I don't know how else to describe it. There was some buildings that were gone while others will still standing, the same could be said for the trees and other landscape. I was barely burnt and I could barely see people. I look up and there wasn't a star or moon to be seen.

There was some lights around but not many. I see people moving around so I decided to get dressed and head out. I brought my flashlight, knife, gun and bullets with me in a bag. I didn't know what was going on or what I would encounter. I looked upwards again and still didn't see any moon or stars, it was so bizarre. The people outside were all checking out the damage around them. I looked back at my apartment building and it looked like it got some superficial fire damage but other than that it was fine.

I went over to some of the people who were wondering around. That's when I looked down and saw it, something shiny. I leaned down to pick it and saw that it was a heart shaped locket. It was silver with blue stones and diamonds in it. I looked around for a woman who looks like she could own the locket. I suddenly realized there was only one woman around. I approached her and asked her if the locket was hers, she said no that there was another woman in the area who was looking for it, she was gracious enough to point me the right direction.

When I saw an outline of a person I sprinted to it and asked the person if the locket belong to them. She looked at me and then the locket and said that it was hers. I handed her the locket and asked her where she was going. She said that she wanted to explore what the area looked like and to see if there are more survivors. I asked if she would mind me coming along, she said I could come with her if I wanted.

So we started off on the journey. I live in a more city setting, so not may trees. We didn't see anything moving, no sign of life. As we walked we talked and discovered we had a lot in common. Then we heard a noise and saw light. It was a ton of meteors and fire coming from the sky. We stopped and watched the show. After it stopped we could move safely to the next part of our journey.

The sky started to lighten. Then we saw it, a green space. Everything around this green space was destroyed. There were a couple of trees but nothing else. I was determined to fond life. I got the idea to go to forest I knew of and added bonus, we would get there by sun rise. I directed my new friend on the mile or so long trek.

As we went on I started to really like this girl. We got to the forest when it was light. I saw animals and plants, all of this was untouched. I looked over to my right and saw a fence next to a small building so I walked over to investigate. It was a garden with vegetables and fruits. I went over to the building and peaked inside. It had all of the tools needed to take care of a garden including seeds.

I told my new friend about the garden and tools. I told her that we could survive a while here or at least try to figure it out. I asked her if she wanted to stay here with me and she said yes. The first thing we did was explore the area to build a shelter. After we built he shelter we decided to figure out what all was left in the world, which wasn't much.

Through out the day and night we saw more of the fire and meteors. I think the world as we knew it ended to make it more natural. We did see some humans but not many. As the days went on we learned to live off the land and we continue to survive and get close.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Lena Bailey

Georgia born writer. Specializing in dating and true crime

If you have any questions or comments please email [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.