Fiction logo

When the snow turned red

tragedy happens when your childhood friend isn't quite who you think they are

By Le LPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
Like

I knew immediately when I saw the snow turn red, I fucked up…..

I've always had a complicated relationship with frank. Our moms worked together so we've always been close. Frank had a tendency to use my insecurities to control me. After 30 years it was time for me to stand up to him Thursday night we took a trip out to our old ice fishing spot. The shack we built was gone, destroyed from all of the blizzards over the years, there was snow everywhere. As we start to fish I finally spoke up, “Frank, can I ask you something”

“OH God here we go again” frank interupted

“You know I'm really starting to hate you.” I Screamed. Things escalated after that, he got up so fast his seat went flying behind him as if a ghost pulled it away. “I'VE HAD ENOUGH OF YOUR SHIT” frank shouted. “Wait a sec….” But I could get it out before he was on top of me. I'm frantically grabbing for anything I can get ahold of. That's when I feel it slide right under the palm of my right hand. The filet knife, without even thinking I stabbed him in the neck, but something wasn't right. That's when I saw the snow turn red and frank was nowhere to be found. I saw my reflection in the water of our fishing hole. I had stabbed myself, and the person staring back at me… was frank… laughing…. Everything went black .

PsychologicalthrillerMicrofictionCONTENT WARNING
Like

About the Creator

Le L

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.