Fiction logo

What is Real Work?

Addressing the double standard of society

By Ameer BibiPublished 11 days ago Updated 11 days ago 1 min read
19
Image created via Bing AI

Housewife: “I feel like I’m working non-stop. There’s always something to do at home, no breaks, no holidays.”

HR Manager: “I understand your point. I’m also getting more work. But, I do get weekends off.”

Housewife: “At this point, I am jealous as I’m unsure when my last day off was. My responsibilities never end, even during holidays or when I’m sick.”

HR Manager: “It’s difficult, no doubt. However, many people overlook both the psychological and physical responsibilities of homemaking. They don’t realize it’s a full-time job.”

Housewife: “Unfortunately, our society only considers office jobs as “real work.”

===================================================

Note: It was published on Medium as a part of a random drabble challenge by the author.

FablePsychologicalMysteryfamily
19

About the Creator

Ameer Bibi

I love to read, write, and discuss life, health, fiction, and humour. If you write anything related to these topics, subscribe to me and share your story; I would love to read it and share my opinion. You can find me on Medium.

With Thanks

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Imran Zahid8 days ago

    Doing any kind of work should get recognition with respect. Unfortunately in some cultures women are made only for house work, where they have no value at all.

  • Guzel9 days ago

    Well written article.....

  • Zee Kash10 days ago

    A brief but amazing piece of writing…superb 👍🏻

  • muniba shafiq10 days ago

    Hats off well written! 👏

  • This is perfect and well written article

  • You've brought up a significant dilemma that many societies in our world are currently facing. You are right, because personally, I think that our society just tends to overlook the fact that doing housekeeping, or homemaking, as you have put it, is also a job. Even as a male, I can say that it is definitely much harder than most office jobs. While not specifically mentioned, homemaking is not just doing household chores, as this is the most common preconceived notion that most of us have, but rather it also requires taking care of the household constituents, such as when a family member gets sick, etc. This is why I have immense respect for women; to be able to balance work as well as responsibilities at home is something that even I don't think I can do. This was a very interesting and thought-provoking conversation. Thank you very much for sharing!

  • Shirley Belk11 days ago

    So very true, but getting better...guess it depends on the culture, though.

  • Murali11 days ago

    It's incredibly difficult for many women who hold down office jobs to also manage household responsibilities.

  • Lol, and that is ohe of the reasons I never wanna get married. Loved this conversation!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.