Fiction logo

What is Christmas?

An Old Paint and Little Peaches Story (for children)

By A. Yvonne MagnusonPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
The Real "Little Peaches" (She's my dork -^w^-)

One day Old Paint’s human came to the barn, harnessed up Old Paint, and lead her out of the barn to the grove of trees that surrounded their farm.

Little Peaches followed along racing and jumping through the snow banks along with her farm dog friend, Po, while Potato, the black and white barn cat, followed behind in Old Paint’s trail.

“How are you going to pull your cart in this deep snow?” Little Peaches asked Old Paint.

“I’m not going to pull my cart today,” Old Paint smiled, “I’m going to pull the human’s yearly tree back to the house for Christmas.”

Little Peaches snorted in confusion, “What is Christmas, and why do the human’s need a tree for it?”

“Oh, I know that!” cried Po, leaping out of a snow bank, “Christmas is a special time of year to our humans. They bring the tree inside the farmhouse, make it all pretty with lights and shiny glittery things, and then the best part happens!”

“What’s that?” asked Little Peaches.

“They eat a great big meal! I even get to eat some of the left-overs!”

“That sounds wonderful! No wonder the humans are taking Old Paint to get a tree!”

“Oh don’t listen to Po. She’s just a pup,” Potato grumbled still following after Old Paint.

Little Peaches glanced at Po but the young farm dog had already taken off after some sparrows that were flying nearby.

“Do you know what Christmas is Potato?” asked Little Peaches.

“Of course I do, I’m a cat after all. Now hold still,” Potato jumped up high onto Little Peaches’ back and began to purr. “You follow Old Paint and I’ll tell you what I know.”

Little Peaches nodded and followed carefully behind Old Paint so that Potato did not have to use her claws to keep from falling off.

“Christmas is a time when the humans all gather together. Parents and children, brothers and sisters, close friends and neighbors all come together to celebrate just being together.” Potato smiled then continued, “Why I have even been able to see some of my kittens and grand kittens from time to time when the human’s family and friends come to visit her around this time of year.”

“That sounds really nice Potato. I can see why our humans would look forward to it so much,” said Little Peaches.

“Of course,” purred Potato.

“But I still don’t understand why the human needs a tree for Christmas,” said Little Peaches, “or why they would choose to all get together and celebrate with food during the coldest time of the year. It doesn’t make any sense. Wouldn’t they like to celebrate when it wasn’t so cold outside?”

Potato just flicked her tail in annoyance, “Who knows why the humans do what they do. They’re not smart like us cats,” and with that she leapt off of Little Peaches’ back and trotted up to sit next to Old Paint, who was stopped next to a small evergreen tree.

“Old Paint?” Little Peaches asked walking up to her while her human swung an axe at the base of the small tree.

“Yes?” Old Paint turned her head to look at a now very confused Little Peaches.

“Do you know what Christmas is? And why your human needs a tree? And why do the human’s celebrate when it’s so cold out?” Little Peaches asked.

Old Paint thought for a moment and then said, “I will explain it the best I can. My human told me long ago, though I admit I don’t fully understand everything she told me.”

The two ponies waited quietly until Old Paint’s human hitched the tree to Old Paint’s harness and they all started heading home before Little Peaches told Old Paint everything Po and Potato had told her about Christmas.

Old Paint nodded her head as her human finished untacking her in the barn while some other humans carried the small tree inside.

“Po and Potato were not wrong with what they told you. That is how our humans celebrate Christmas.”

“But why the tree?” Little Peaches asked.

Old Paint laughed, “It is a tradition started by our human’s ancestors from a place they call Germany.”

“And why do they celebrate it now when it’s so cold?” Little Peaches asked.

“Ah for that I must ask you a question: Do you remember when we went to the church in town?” Asked Old Paint.

“Yes,” Little Peaches smiled, “you gave rides with your cart and the children came to pet me and give me treats!”

“That’s right,” Old Paint smiled, “Well Little Peaches, Christmas is a celebration of the church to honor the birth of our Lord Jesus.”

Old Paint walked a little further into the barn and touched their hay bunk with her nose, “He was born in a stable,”

“Like ours?” Little Peaches interrupted.

“I suppose,” said Old Paint, “and his mother laid Him in a manger since there was no bed for him.”

“But what was so special about Him?” Little Peaches asked.

“He was born to take away the sins of the world Little Peaches, so that one day we can go to Heaven and be happy forever.”

“That seems like a really good reason to celebrate,” said Little Peaches.

Old Paint smiled, “Yes, I think so too.”

Away in a manger,

No crib for His bed

The little Lord Jesus

Laid down His sweet head

The stars in the bright sky

Looked down where He lay

The little Lord Jesus

Asleep on the hay

The cattle are lowing

The poor Baby wakes

But little Lord Jesus

No crying He makes

I love Thee, Lord Jesus

Look down from the sky

And stay by my side,

'Til morning is nigh.

Be near me, Lord Jesus,

I ask Thee to stay

Close by me forever

And love me I pray

Bless all the dear children

In Thy tender care

And take us to heaven

To live with Thee there

Series
Like

About the Creator

A. Yvonne Magnuson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.