Fiction logo

What hope looks like

What i see when I stare long enough into nothing

By Hridya SharmaPublished 27 days ago 3 min read
Like

When the cat started speaking I knew it was the death of me. I wiped my tears as the cat walked and sat beside me, as the moonlit sky adorned in the radiance of the moon. She stared at me and with the beauty of her emerald-green eyes, she whispered," Don't shed tears for the ones who won't even remember about your existence. I wanted to say something but alas the alarm clock rang and I looked in the mirror. It was time for me to let go.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I knew it would be the death of me!

I knew it would be the death of me when I cat finally started speaking,

Amor in its lustrous flair swarmed the senses of pragmatism that I beheld,

Once laughing in the fondness of affection, now in tears of desolation my eyes withheld.

The eternal longing of love often haunts the existence of thee,

Flourishing with abundant light once now haunted with the atrocities of dee.

--

I sat under the somberness of the dusk, where two lovers in their essence embraced,

The day cherished the presence of the night, as my dying heart with your memories interlaced.

Love begins with a metaphor that rules in the contradiction of vows,

The one that emphasizes the conditionality one endows.

--

Love is a metaphor that materializes itself in the blasphemous realms of duty,

A man should not shed a tear and a woman

Should be an object of desire, alluring to the male gaze to be called a thing of beauty.

Silenced by society, obligated by the deemed call,

A woman forges to only know her worth once she loses it all

--

The moon in its radiance embellished the midnight hues of the sky,

Tears of despair rolled down as the vows of unconditionality in love you swore over,

Were all a cheat sheet for moving on over a conditional lie.

Nostalgia is the bittersweet lane that pulls you into a trance,

Mulling over the syllables recorded and the things you didn't say,

Maybe this truce of ours still stands its chance.

--

Engrossed in my dreams of your inhibition, I yearned to talk to you,

But as I made my way, the cat in its emerald green eyes shouted, "Is the love he holds for you even true?”

As I turned around, the cat disappeared out of sight,

I longed to ask her whether the thought of harbouring eternal love was right.

--

Trudging on my way in bellowed woods, on my way unknown,

The wanderlust of my bounty affection alas couldn't find its home

Wandering in my quest I saw a board that read, “

In the radiance of the sun and the darkness of the midnight,

When you hold onto faith, that is what hope looks like.

--

The alarm rang in its glaring sound as the dawn adorned its solace,

As I looked in the mirror, I knew it was time to return to my embrace.

Metamorphosis in its yonder whispered the onset of the transformative spring,

The memories of you felt like what I see when I stare long enough into nothing

Trembling with fear as I was surmounted with desolation again,

I surrendered to the divine and a new quest surged to begin

In the eloquence of solitude, I mellowed to the eternal might,

To have faith in her power, I forged to be her light.

--

I knew it was the death of me when the cat started to scorn,

For now, it was time for me to be reborn.

To all those who wish upon the stars and the dreams that are the answer

You are the manifestation of all your prayers.

I hope you believe in all that could be,

You are the light in the all the magic that the world cannot see

-Hridya

thrillerYoung AdultStream of ConsciousnessShort StorySeriesScriptSci FiSatirePsychologicalMysteryMicrofictionLoveHumorHorrorHolidayHistoricalFantasyFan FictionfamilyFableExcerptClassicalAdventure
Like

About the Creator

Hridya Sharma

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.