Fiction logo

What happened

What happened

By sammie mcgeePublished 11 months ago 4 min read
Like

My business friends and friends at the table were very sad to hear this sad news, and they pitied the suffering of my master, weeping with him, and tearing his clothes with him. The master, bewildered by this sudden shock, staggered like a drunkard towards the gate of the farm. The others followed him towards the gate.

No sooner had the master stepped out of the gate than he saw a great crowd running towards him, full of dust and crying. When he looked carefully, he saw that the governor was leading the procession, followed by his family, all of whom were crying like tears. When the master and his wife, children meet each other, a stunned, for a long time, only through tears to smile, mutual inquiry.

The host asked, "What happened at home? How are you? I thought something bad happened to you?"

"Blessed is Allah, Father, you are safe." One by one, the young ladies rushed to embrace their master.

She was surprised and surprised to see that her master was fine. "Praise Almighty Allah!" she said. He keeps you and your friends safe! But how did you survive?"

In the noisy atmosphere, the host did not know what his wife was saying, but was busy asking: "How is the situation at home? Has there been an accident?"

"Everything is all right at home. Nothing much has happened. Only Berhaoto, a bareheaded slave, tore his clothes and cried, 'My master! 'I asked him what had happened, and he said:' His Lordship and his friends were all killed by the falling wall. '"

"Just now he came to me crying and telling me that all the family was dead." "My master turned around and saw me standing by with my turban torn to shreds and my face covered with tears and dust. He shouted angrily," Damn you, my slave! See what you have done!

"My Lord! You can't punish me, because that's my fault. You are not unaware that I tell a lie once a year, and this time I tell only half of it. Well, at the end of the year I'll do the next half, to make a complete one."

"Son of a bitch! You are a mortal sinner!" The master's anger reached its climax, and he burst into a rage, "You have done such a terrible thing, and yet you say, without knowing it, that you have told only half a lie. I'm so pissed off! Get out of here! I don't want to see you again. '

"You have set me free, but I cannot leave you. When I have lied the other half before the end of the year, you can take me to the market, explain my weakness to other buyers, and sell me. Now you can't kick me out, because I don't have any life-sustaining skills. You have studied with a master of law, and you should know the law about freeing slaves."

I defended myself courteously, but the master cursed, and we refused to give in.

By this time the people had gathered round to comfort my master sympathetically. Then the master and his friends went up to the governor, told him the truth, and reiterated that the incident was the result of only half a lie, and did not yet know what harm the next half would cause. When the governor and the people heard this, they thought it was too much of a joke. Then they all cursed and condemned me in unison, but I smiled as if nothing had happened and said:

"It is my fault, and the master cannot punish me, for he knew it very well when he bought me."

Then the master came home, and when he saw that the house was in such a mess that he could not find anything in good condition, he was very angry. Most of the damage had been done by my own hands, and the damage was incalculable. Of course, Madame had destroyed a great deal, but she added fuel to the fire by saying to his lordship, "This China and all the rest of the furniture was broken by this boy Berhaoto."

Microfiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.