Fiction logo

what did we do

chapter 1

By Dylan-Quinn HarrisPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1

It was the summer before my senior year of high school. The roughest summer of my life. I went to the countryside to stay with my grandma, Nora. she lived alone after my grandpa passed, in an accident. She refused to leave the home they made together but some say there was a different reason. some say it was murder, and she didn’t want anyone to find out. I thought they were just crazy rumors until that summer.

Just before the break, I had planned to spend the summer in my room with a fan and a good thick book, " The little boy." I never got a chance to read it but with the break coming, I thought I would have plenty of time. When I got home that afternoon, my mom was packing my dad's luggage. All she had to say was,

" No, I'm not kicking your father out, and no, you're not going with him."

I wondered about the second part until I saw some of my things packed up as well, so I had to ask,

" So, where am I going?" She walked over to me and placed her hands on my shoulder, and smiled,

" You're going to your grandma's for the summer. The entire summer." This was the start of a heated argument that went on through dinner.

" Look, kid, we're not talking about this anymore. Your father is going on a business trip, you're going to your grandmother's and I'm finally getting some much-needed R&R in a Korean bathhouse spa. Get it?!"

" Got it," I said, slumped in my chair.

" Good!" She huffed, taking an aggressive bite of her food. My father just sat there silently eating his food with his phone in hand, not even looking up at his family.

After dinner, I went to bed frustrated and anxious, I didn’t know my grandmother that well. I’d only seen her a hand full of times but that was when I was a baby. I don’t even know what she looks like anymore. I lay in my bed filled with worry as I drifted off to sleep. The next morning we were out for summer and off to my grandmother's. I had no other choice, but at least I had my book-

" give it." my mom said with her hand extended toward me.

"I don't know what you're talking about." I slowly tucked my book away to my side, but she was relentless and gave me an evil look with and whispered,

"So help me, John, I will make you regret that you were born.

" I already do." My father just looked into the mirror and grunted disappointingly at me. He looked back at the road to find a place to pull over. after he did he turned around to me and glared,

" boy, you need to stop hiding from the world with your head in some book. look at me I'm a very successful man, and how can I expect you to run my business when you're stuck in some dumb fairy tale land. hand over the book, now." I don't think I have ever heard my dad talk for this long. I handed over my book out of pure fear. Once we arrived I got out dragging my luggage behind me, and with every step I took, I requested the man upstairs. 1. they change their minds, 2. a car crash, 3. the end of the world, and the last step I took, 4. my book back. they didn't happen, but that didn't stop me from believing it could.

" gran! you home?!" my mom shouted as if she was too afraid to just walk in, but i don't blame her. It was an old house, but it was huge. It looked like it had six bedrooms and a balcony at the top in the very middle. The house was painted white with some small flakes coming off here and there, but I don't see any reason to blame the old gall for the state of the house, seeing as she's well in her 80's.

"what the hell do you want, you dirty mother fu-"

" - Hey! it's just us, you know, you're family?" my mom yelled with her hands held out as if she were surrendering for her life.

"Oh, well how the hell was I supposed to know? I nearly shot you with this shotgun I just bought. maybe i should fire one-off, just to see if the piece of shit still works."

my mom stood up and was relieved, but was still on edge about the last comment grandma had. She pointed to the stairs and told me to go on up and find myself a room, but she told me two of the rooms were off-limits, hers and the "storage room" which was at the very end of the hall. It was dark and creepy, and I wanted to know what was behind it. Well, there was only one thing I could do, so let the summer begin.

Series
1

About the Creator

Dylan-Quinn Harris

living my life and doing "me" things.

https://linktr.ee/dylan1622

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.