Fiction logo

What Am I?

Purple flared from my hands…

By TwylaPublished about a year ago 3 min read
2
What Am I?
Photo by Mohammad Yusuf on Unsplash

Every night at midnight, the purple clouds came out to dance with the blushing sky. Energy burned within me like a never-ending well, ready to burst from my inner beings. I wasn’t sure what it meant, but I knew I needed to find out.

The purple clouds came out as the lush grass brushed against my legs as I reached the middle of Nybrook Forest. The air felt electric all around me, dancing along my skin. It felt as if I had magic ready to be harnessed.

But if I did, how would I even reach it?

The forest opened to an empty circle of dirt with trees surrounding the area. The night sky was dark, but you could see the purple clouds setting low, as if you could reach out and touch them.

I kneeled and placed my hands on the ground, closing my eyes. I tried to pull on that inner well of energy stored inside me.

The energy built within me as I thought of the nature surrounding me, focused on the empty earth surrounding me. I took a slow and steady breath and dug my hands into the dirt.

The leaves rustled, and the wind blew fiercely around me. I slowly opened my eyes, and I couldn’t believe what I saw.

My hands had a purple flare coming from them, and grass and small patches of flowers had sprouted from the circle of dirt.

Shocked, I lifted my hands from the ground and stumbled backward. The purple flare had died, as well as the new grass and flowers….

What does this mean? What am I?

The air crackled around me as I stared at the purple clouds in the sky.

“What am I?” I yelled out to the world, hoping for a response.

But from who? I didn’t know. Was I the only one? What would my family think of me? My friends?

I ran through Nybrook Forest with thoughts swirling through my mind. The branches reached for me and pulled me in other directions but home.

I stopped and realized I was back where I started, the spot I had run from earlier. But how?

A small patch of grass with a single pink perfectly bloomed flower sat in the middle of the dirt.

Did I create this?

I cupped the flower into my hands. The flower looked as if the receptacle had a small face. I leaned in closer to get a look, and the flower was staring back at me.

“Oh, well, hello.” A tiny voice came.

The pink flower had human characteristics. The pink petals were its hair. The thick stem became a body. She looked like a fairy. Enchanting.

“Um, hi….”

Giggles burst around me. I stood abruptly and noticed that there was more than just her.

“What’s going on?” I asked.

“You have the gift.” She said, “You are the first earth elemental in over five hundred years.”

The tiny flower humans cheered, but I couldn’t figure out why.

“I’m sorry. I’m not sure what that means.” I sat on the ground in front of her.

“You hold an ancient magic that died out years ago. This is why you’ve been feeling the pull to come here. You’ve felt the call, didn’t you?” She waved her arms around, and the nature surrounding us seemed to answer.

“I did. It feels like a well of never-ending energy.”

They all yelled and cheered. Their little feet pattered the ground.

“What does this mean?” I asked in hopes of getting some answers.

“Close your eyes, and we will show you.”

Hesitantly I closed my eyes. Speckles of something pattered my face.

“Okay, open.”

As I opened my eyes, the pink flower and I were the same height. The mound of grass she was sitting atop was a roof to a small house beneath her.

“Are you ready?” She walked down the mound and opened the door.

I nodded my head as I couldn’t find the words to speak.

“Everything you seek is on the other side of this door.”

The tiny flowers around me all nodded in agreement. They looked eager for me to join them, so I did.

I stared at the door nervously, my hands became clammy but as soon as the door swung open, and I stepped in.

A whole new world awaited me.

Fantasy
2

About the Creator

Twyla

Creative Writer | Currently writing my debut novel | Single mom of one handsome son | Full-time employee | Full-time college student | Love writing horror and fantasy | I write for myself and share with you guys! Hope you enjoy it. 🖤

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.