Fiction logo

Were There Ever Dragons in The Valley?

The Sacred System Of paper record-keeping

By Elijah DavisPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Were There Ever Dragons in The Valley?
Photo by Ananya Mittal on Unsplash

There weren't always dragons in the valley. At least that's what everyone in the central villages loves to say.

What the fuck does that even mean, there weren't always dragons in the valley. Who cares. Like now, we have some super-spaz Village leaders, the CSS, and all sorts of fascist ass ish. And it is like every time I say something people bring up that there weren't always dragons in the valley.

Again, what the fuck! I've never even seen a god damn dragon but I would bet my sick-ass village villa on the eastern village royal lands, that there are no fucking dragons in that valley. If there were DRAGONS my villager I would be up in that slaying those overgrown fire breathers.

After only six years of living in the central villages, I KNEW some shady things were going on.

Cut to: A peach fuzzy faced me from six years ago. I was 21. I had just finished my royal requirements training at the eastern kingdom, and I was filled with silly, foolish ambitions. Instead of taking a bride and moving into the position of ruling an eastern providence, I opted for more education. It is the oldest tradition that I should take a bride and become ruler directly after finishing RRT.

But since the eastern kingdom, and village empire had become the entertainment hub of the Cauzmic Land, the politics had suffered immensely. People still held the Kings, Queens, and Empire Leaders in high esteem, but the influence in the east was usually held by the best musician, artist, writer, or fashion designer.

At the time I felt that the entire eastern villages and kingdoms were a playground for frivolous fun and luxury properties. I had been a prominent member of the eastern society for long enough and did not feel there was anything left for me. The marriage ceremony for the 21-year-old new providence ruler would have been the type of spectacle that the entire eastern kingdom drools over.

Another extremely fancy and luxurious event for the wealthy to tout their fancy clothes, and jewelry, and drink their fancy wines and spirits! I was not interested in any of it, except maybe their expensive and fancy wine. Even my mother complained of having wasted the purchase of an amazing outfit that she would not get to where at my wedding.

My father on the other hand was very proud and excited that I decided to pursue learning the respectable and sacred system of paper recordkeeping in the central villages. My father had grown bored of the stability and growth of the Eastern Kingdom and he felt attending art galleries and music shows was a waste of time.

"If the boy gets into the advanced printing press courses he could make a real name for himself and this family. I agree that he should pursue this my queen let us support him"

And with the blessing of the king, also my father, I was packed and prepared to head to the central villages. I was so nervous the night before my trip, that I even considered taking a bride.

But when I awoke on the day of departure I knew that leaving was the right choice. I did not know what would happen to me in the central villages, but I did know what the eastern kingdom and villages were like. I had taken all that I could from the eastern kingdom, and a change of scenery was just what I needed.

The day I left the eastern kingdom gates was the day that I felt free for the first time. The air was immaculate and sexy I wanted to run all around the central village empire and enjoy the views. Beautiful flowers, Exotic women, and the inviting smell of paper.

The courses that I had signed up for were starting later that month so I originally moved into a village closer to the outskirts. The printing press was to be held in the central capital of the central villages.

The village of Betsy had a large kingdom or temple with an expansive garden. It had three buildings and a recreation center, along with hunting grounds. It was the place of my dreams and I figured that I would be able to secure one of the guest buildings for my off-campus home.

Little did I know the village of Betsy was very special and had somehow gained autonomy from a few of the rigid strict systems that dominate the more central, central villages. The CSS had no legal right to pursue enemies of the central villages into Betsy, so there were some rougher characters in town.

Betsy was an amazing village responsible for securing the information contained in the paper documents on the plants, trees, botany, and nature of the central villages. It was oddly enough the most amazing village I had ever been to. They taught about the healing properties of several plants and fruits. The foods and meals were delicious. While in Betsy I heard wild and peculiar things about the central villages, specifically the capital, where I was headed for printing press courses.

A few people told me to not bother going to the capital unless I was ready to...

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Elijah Davis

Instagram: authorelijahdavis

mystery solving contest on ig.

Here to share my developing books and evolve my writing style to a more mature audience

Books for Sale @ Cauzmicspublishing.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.