Fiction logo

Was It The End?

I question was it the end of the world or was it the simplest yet most drastic & difficult way of letting the people know that we must try for humanity’s better sake?

By Keanna Barry Published 3 years ago 10 min read
Like

Dear diary,

Today is: Tuesday, May 13, 2025.

I woke up with a panic attack. I’m not exactly one to ever get them but last night I had the most vivid of dreams. It was probably my glimpse into heaven but it was quite the leading. Leading me into a state of confusion but also into a state of ease. The weird thing of it is I wasn’t exactly scared, it just opened up my eyes to the true world. The world we should have been creating, maintaining, and living in. My dream struck me as a nightmare and I was confused of why I was dreaming this so vividly and with that I had woken up in a panicked state. I tried to reflect on it but could barely remember what happened. So instead I decided to pick up my journal and tell you as much as I can. The world had seemed to be on edge. The type of edge that should be concerning to all of us and it sure was! At least to me. I noticed others acting “normal” but I didn’t understand how anybody could act in that way when frightening matters were evolving. The chaos and madness of our world being shown it’s last days. The heavy rain beginning to flood, the quakes of the planet, the thunderstorms and lightning all occurring at the same moment. It was a beautiful sight to see but with an ending so tragic I regret and shun seeing the “beauty” behind any of it.

I hadn’t realized how much potential the world gave off until right now. Which saddens me to great extents because that just means I am not the only one worried about the world in ways where we would try to do something and do something quick. For the others that are not worried they seem to show that they don’t know what to do for us. Should we have proclaimed love sooner? Attempt to banish cruelty at the earliest chance? Set an example so strong that more would have liked to reach that or maybe even gain more from it? Was the works of the world not enough to show us as people a safer way out? Was it wrong to ignore, set aside and wait for the global issues to be fixed by the unknown? The unknown never came through and that right there was a predicament that nobody claimed as being the ones of even wanting to try or work towards in ways that it would be complete.

This dream contained secrets in which I learned and surely benefited from because I do not wish to witness the end of times. I don’t think anyone truly does or at least anybody holding morals and values of appreciation surely don’t. For one I noticed the smiles on peoples faces. I do not know them purley but could sense these smiles were laced with grace. That they weren’t existing in a time of horror but that these smiles represented an idea of maybe the next life isn’t all so bad. At least not as bad as planet earth. Also known as our one true home but due to a lot of beings coming off as being cruel I fluctuate the concerns of humanity and want to attempt on a rise of changing and making our home in reality into a good one. A better one. A one so good that nobody will complain of it because for once we will have reached an understanding of what was right and what was wrong and how to focus on eliminating the wrong so that the right way of living will finally be able to be on our horizon and exist in a place where it is shown how much it matters to us a human race.

The secrets I found out were so troublesome that I had to write it out in pen to make sense with the matter that we are in trouble. Big trouble and apologies, changing behaviour, and attempting to protect this place are now just far away ideas because of the edge the earth is laying forward on. It all depends on us as a human race to eliminate the issues pressuring the end but again we are a bit too late to even try. I wonder, would it make a difference if everybody had found out in time that we “all” had the capabilities of doing so? Or that the power and control we gave to the main authority still stands with us as the rest of a minority, nation and society. That we are not powerless we just weren’t left “in charge”. Then if authority was not there I wonder would things be different? Better or worse? Would it be easier to change the way of life? Would it be possible to reach out to each and every individual on the scale of saving? Or would the end have arrived sooner due to the uproar of hatred and evil we witnessed sadly enough on the daily?

I had not woken right away and had been dreaming for a time period long enough to have witnessed the most I could contain to fulfill this journal entry with content that I one day do intend to publish to the world. To publish the views of my dreams will become a reality because the things I had witnessed should not just stay to myself! I know secrets and forbidden knowledge work in ways that are meant to be seen or known only to those it was picked up on by but this here is different and I shall proclaim the truth until the better days of our lives are in existence. That’s all I want yet for the whole clan of “humanity” myself included, we never dared to focus on forgiveness but rather so had just continued to destroy and destroy. Whether what was being wrecked had been human made creations, the lives of people, or the home in which we all had lived; the destruction ran deeper than what we knew and we kissed the world good bye without forseeing the ways of the next life.

I was moving in my dream. Weird but I kept on going. I felt myself walking and being able to listen to my surroundings. I had found beautiful scenery and walked along the edge of the “heaven” by myself where I felt ease run up my sleeve and made me feel as though I was safe. There was this sign that read: “place something of riches into the fountain for your best of dreams may come true” so I dropped my pink locket into “the fountain of wishes” instead of a coin. I did not have a coin but I am praying that the heart of my pendant will send success my way. I mean it represents love and that is all I crave. Not love from a lover; at least not for right now but rather to my expense I’d like love from the world. A love so true and a love so strong that the world will never get worse because “love” can and will only get better and stronger. That is all we as humanity had ever needed but we never reached that point of life because the attempts of those strong and smart enough were ignored.

The other things I had witnessed surely were not just acts of hate but much rather they had been acts of showing the world and it’s people their true colours. These colours were red that resembles anger. An angry nation too blind to see that life was there for you and me. That there was nonsense coming from our peoples that continuously made a way into shattering our outlook on picking up the broken pieces of our home and making things truly better for each and every one of us. From the large population of beings that exist in sad to angry to back to sad ways of feeling I found myself figuring new concepts and new solutions to finally fixing the planet and allowing the end of it to pass by and not destroy us. Just for it to hover over us to maybe scare us all into acting right, proper, and happy and then go away because by that moment we would no longer be crying for the end to occur.

Was it fair to face? Was it something we could have defeated? Was there the possibility of making it right? Of course it wasn’t fair! Of course we could have defeated the matters leading us towards the end! Of course the possibility of making it right was there! But nobody was loud enough to insist the truth or they weren’t strong enough with their own personal will to have passed the purpose of today onto humanity. Then to have humanity reflect on why there was ever a scare so extreme that we needed it to have an awakening in our lives and tragically do something to uphold the only world we knew as a home. I hate that the world had been that bad. That it’s daily rotations were set on sadness, hate, and something as incomplete as having no morals to make it better. I mean maybe we would be forgiven if some to many to all of us were selfish over the matter and tried to make our time better by trying to do it just for our self! But that’s not how it went down and my dream proved it all to me. That we were weak in personal values and had little to no interest in placing our lives in the hands of someone who truly wished the best upon us. I tell this tale as though I’m smart when really my only intention is to bend back the horrible flaws we can’t see but do still generate in ways where many complain of, pick at, and judge but do nothing of the problem.

I sense the new world will be nothing as the last. Yet I still hope the sun will shine just the same, or that the sun will rise and set as beautifully as always, and that the scenery of nature may remain and we can appreciate those tiny things instead of debating over which celebrity wore what better and who’s seeing who or who left who because not only did an apprentice visit me just before my dream was over I had finally plugged into a mindset that is well enough in the means of being safe where I stopped my voice from talking and had opened my ears to hear, listen, understand, and fulfill within my own will of the world. This apprentice was the most stand out beautiful being I have seen. I suppose that is a reason of why we had met inside my dreams instead of reality because no one can doubt the words I am about to say… that inner beauty radiates to outer beauty and this woman was with the looks set on being called amazing let alone her wisdom & knowledge in which she shared with me turned me to face myself in the mirror and I resented myself for a second until all of a sudden my smile formed and I could tell it was being laced by grace when it happened. That something this magical woman did was no coincidence to why I’m frantically writing this through.

That’s all for now diary.

Yours truly,

~K

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Keanna Barry

Give me a chance to help you with my own words?

My writing is intended to be read by you and the lessons being learned from what i am saying is all i pray and hope for to help improve quality of life for you, me, and like everyone else too!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.