Fiction logo

Was it just a dream?

...we'll never know.

By Adriana CovicPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Was it just a dream?
Photo by Tuva Mathilde Løland on Unsplash

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own.

It was unsettling, to say the least, as I stood in front of it trying to fix my hair before heading out to an important meeting. Instead of seeing my own reflection, I saw a woman with long, dark hair and piercing blue eyes staring back at me. She looked like she was in pain, and her expression was so vivid that it almost seemed like she was standing right behind me.

I shook my head and rubbed my eyes, thinking that maybe I was just imagining things. But when I looked back at the mirror, the woman was still there, her eyes boring into mine. I took a step back, feeling a chill run down my spine. That's when I noticed something else strange about the reflection. The background was different. Instead of my bathroom, I saw a dimly lit hallway with a door at the end of it.

I leaned closer to the mirror, trying to get a better look. As I did, the woman's reflection started to fade away, replaced by a man who looked just as lost and confused as I felt. He had short hair and was wearing a suit like mine, but his face was twisted in fear. He was looking at something behind him, something that I couldn't see.

I stumbled back, feeling disoriented. What was going on? Was I hallucinating? I turned around, half-expecting to see the man from the mirror standing behind me, but there was no one there. I took a deep breath and tried to calm myself down. Maybe I was just stressed out from work. Maybe I needed to get some sleep. Maybe I just needed to leave.

But when I looked back at the mirror, the man was still there, and he was now looking directly at me. His eyes were pleading, as if he wanted to tell me something, but he couldn't. They followed me. And that's when I realized that the mirror wasn't just a mirror. It was a portal, a gateway to another world.

I tried to look away, to break the connection, but I couldn't. The mirror held me captive, its surface turning into a window that revealed a nightmare world that was bleeding into my own. The hallway behind the man was now bathed in blood, and the door at the end of it was open, revealing a darkness that seemed to go on forever.

When did the door open, I thought. It was definitely closed.

And then, something reached out from the darkness, something that made my blood run cold and my face pale. It was a hand, a twisted, gnarled hand with claws for fingers. It grabbed the man from the mirror and dragged him into the darkness, his screams echoing in my mind.

I watched him struggle. I watched him fight. I watched him disappear into the darkness and the door slam shut.

I tried to step back, to turn away from the mirror, but my legs wouldn't move. It was like I was frozen in place, trapped in the mirror's grip. And then, the mirror started to pulse, the surface rippling like water. It was back. The thing. I watched in horror as a figure emerged from the mirror, its body contorted and twisted beyond recognition. It was like looking at a nightmare made real.

It stepped out of the mirror and into my world, its eyes locking onto mine. I tried to scream, but no sound came out. The figure reached out and touched my face, its fingers cold as ice. And then, it spoke, its voice like nails on a chalkboard.

"Welcome to my world," it said.

And then, everything went black.

When I woke up, I was lying on the bathroom floor, my head throbbing with pain. It took me a moment to remember what had happened, and when I looked up at the mirror, I saw only my own reflection staring back at me. I got up slowly, feeling dizzy and disoriented. Was it all just a dream?

MysteryShort StoryHorror
1

About the Creator

Adriana Covic

I'm an avid traveller, lover of good food and a huge fan of cats.

This is me. This is the stuff I write.

Welcome.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.