Fiction logo

Waisted

Vocal Community Microfiction Series - Style

By Loryne AndaweyPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
11
Waisted
Photo by Jason Leung on Unsplash

"Seriously Mom, you need help."

My jaw dropped. "Ex-cuse me?"

"Fine. Guidance." My daughter looked me up and down. "Your top is fine, but you need new pants."

"Why?"

"Because! Low-rise Jeans are in and high-waists..." My daughter rolled her eyes. "They are so last decade."

I couldn't help it.

My laughter was long and loud.

"Oh sweetie! I've been through Y2K. I know what low-risers do to self-esteem and let me tell ya-"

I leaned forward. My daughter flinched back.

"They can take my high-waisted Jeans from my cold. Dead. Hands!"

*

*

*

Thank you for lingering

Short StorySeriesfamily
11

About the Creator

Loryne Andawey

Health, Happiness & Abundance.

Currently enjoying the company of Francis, Mike, C.H., Gammastack, Michelle, Cosimo, Kristen, Bronson, Bella, Talia, Sean, Babs, Kelli, Rick, Dharrsheena, Heather, Gina and many, many more!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Thavien Yliaster12 months ago

    I just kept thinking about how some people have a muffin top, and muffin top might spill out more in low rise jeans, but not in a high waist. Even if You don't got a muffin top and got washboard abs instead, low waist sometimes just don't sit right on the hips and even give You a gut when You don't have one (or after eating a big meal, guilty as charged).

  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    lol. this is great. Well done.

  • sleepy drafts12 months ago

    This is * such * a mood! I'm on the brink of gen z and millennial (1996 babies, what's up!) and you couldn't pay me enough to bring back low-rise. 😂 Soo uncomfortable!

  • Gina C.12 months ago

    I loved this! So relatable. I strongly identify with all the jean controversy that's been going on 😅 I guess that means I'm old, LOL

  • Oh she's not wrong about the self esteem part. Loved your story!

  • Babs Iverson12 months ago

    Fantastic!!!

  • A far better use of Clint Eastwood phraseology than he ever made of it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.