Fiction logo

Virtual Romance

A story of pain, fantasy, and both past and present romance."

By Katelynn Marie Published 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

I sit at my gaming station. Prepping my avatar for start up. Once I hit play my conscious will be transported into the wonderful fictional world of Xar. My avatar, Evie, will take over and I'll experience everything from her eyes. I put on my headset, get situated on my game pad, and hit play. The words "Welcome Evelynn" ringing through my ears. As Evelynn disappears and Evie materializes the world is transformed.

Soon I'm pacing the streets of the hi-tech city. The court yard filled with everything from elves to sorcerers and even a few gnomes. "Evie!", screams a soft voice. I turn to see my group waving at me. My best friend, Claire, staring at me with glee. It's been 2 years since we formed our guild. Claire, a dark elf, brought us all together, but since the exit of her older brother a hole has formed in our circle. However, the game doesn't stop for anyone so even with an unbalanced guild we must complete our quest for the day. The five of us head towards the left of the side of the city... right to the entrance to the Undercity. Our mission: to rescue a rare artifact from the Undercity's main unit of defense. A ruthless guild lead by a wizard named, Gabriel. He could stop the heart of anyone. Short wild white hair, and face that appears to be chiseled out of marble, but he's egotistic and arrogant as hell. The Undercity isn't exactly a real city. It's mainly just tunnels and corridors filled with small homes that lead to a clearing they call the court yard. As we stealthily push through the tunnels the hairs on my neck raise and I soon realize that we're being watched. Before I can warn my group two dark elves land right in front of us and one flanks from behind. The chaos erupts and soon I'm being told to run by Brutus, our resident giant. I grab Claire's hand and run down the left corridor. We make it past one more of Gabriel's goons before we reach an opening. Claire then stops me with fear in her eyes. She knows that if we all fail we'll lose all our hard work and I'm the swiftest member. "Go...now" she whispers and she pushes me ahead. I take one look at her preparing for her battle and then I run as quickly as I can. I eventually make it to the court yard area where the artifact, a bright red stone, sits patiently. As I carefully move closer I hear an eerie and yet familiar laugh. "You've returned... but is it for me or that stupid stone?" I turn to face my enemy. Gabriel's bright green eyes piercing into my soul. My words catch like a rock in my throat. Gabriel smirks before whispering, "You've changed... Evie. You seem strong, but lighter. No dark essence to surround you and yet you returned." I grimace slightly at his words... did I mention that I use to be his and in his guild. When the guild turned dark I fled from them and sworn to never go back. "Give it back", I respond with a bite, "That artifact doesn't belong to you... and neither do I. You have no claim to what belongs to Xar." He just laughs as if my words mean nothing. "Does it not bother you to see what you've become? To see what this guild has become? Has it not recurred to you why I fled? You use to have dreams and now all you do is steal and destroy. You're a shell of the person you were." For an instance he looked displeased at my efforts, but soon sorrow and anger fills his eyes. He lunges towards me, forgetting my speed and agility, as I swiftly dodge his advances. His sword and my staff making contact occasionally. After awhile we are both tired and breathless, and just as we're both about to make our final moves one of the goons darts out of the shadows followed by a bruised Claire. She tries to yell my name, but it's too late as I fail to see the assailant before his arrow pierces my skin. Ripping through my right shoulder. I scream in pain and just as I start to prepare for the end a fire ball passes right over my head hitting the good right in the chest. I watch as his avatar dissipates before looking towards the source of the fire ball. Gabriel stands in front of me shaking and looking at me in horror. A sight that I've never seen. And while I probably could have just walked away but I stand and slowly walk towards him. I'm face to face with him as I reach out past him and grasp the stone; Gabriel still frozen in place. I back away from him... back towards the corridor with caution. Afraid to trust my savior. An enemy who was once a friend. As I'm pushing through the corridors with Claire the world starts to turn fuzzy and grey... soon fading into a world of black.

I'm not sure how we made it out or what exactly happened. All I do know is we got a level up, the city of Xar got its artifact back, and we won't be returning to the Undercity any time soon. Once I'm able I prepare to meet my guild at the local pub. A small wooded building with jolly music and lots of Ale. We're all enjoying the relaxation when Claire shows up late followed by a tall broad male wearing a shielding hooded cloak. I start to ponder his identity when he lowers his hood revealing a very familiar face. The same chiseled jawline and piercing green eyes. I quickly jump to my feet, my hands balled into tight fists ready to fight. Claire seeing the tension precedes to explain why the hell he's here. "I figured since he saved you... that meant he'd be turned on. Sure enough I found him wondering the uppercity... he's been booted back to level 10. Evie... they abandoned him. Turned on him." "I don't care. I know the type of man he is... I can't be in a guild with him...", I reply harshly as I walk out the door of the pub.

I'm walking away from my guild with tears in my eyes when I hear foot steps behind me. I turn to face him... his face red from the heat. "I'm sorry. I know you hate me, but you shouldn't lose friends over me. I was so angry at you for leaving because I loved you... I thought I wanted to hurt you in return but when I saw that arrow hit you I froze in fear.", he said frantically. "But why? Why save someone you hate?" I replied softly... already knowing the answer. "I guess my love for you out weighs the anger and hatred I held towards you..."- The end.

-Virtual Romance. "A story of hurt, pain, fantasy, and both past and present romance."

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Katelynn Marie

Hi, I'm Katie. I'm a 27-year-old musician with a passion for writing and streaming. Aside from writing on Vocal, I stream on twitch. I play a variety of games. In May of 2021, I lost my dearest grandfather and it's forever changed me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.