Fiction logo

Vintage Wheels

Vocal Community Microfiction Series - Wheel

By Loryne AndaweyPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
28
Vintage Wheels
Photo by Courtney Cook on Unsplash

Every time I tell my date I collect vintage wheels, it always goes like this:

Why didn't you roll up in it?

It's in the shop.

Can you take me for a ride?

Not really. It's a one-seater.

Can I see pictures of it?

I sigh and show them. The reactions are all the same:

You must be joking.

I'm not.

Seriously?

I'm serious.

You lied to me!

No I didn't!

Afterwards I pay for dinner and never see them again.

It's not my fault though.

I told them it was a one-seater.

By Library of Congress on Unsplash

*

*

*

Thank you for lingering

Short StorySeriesMicrofiction
28

About the Creator

Loryne Andawey

Health, Happiness & Abundance.

Currently enjoying the company of Francis, Mike, C.H., Gammastack, Michelle, Cosimo, Kristen, Bronson, Bella, Talia, Sean, Babs, Kelli, Rick, Dharrsheena, Heather, Gina and many, many more!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (23)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    ROTFL🤣🤣🤣 Economical too!!! Love it!!!💕❤️

  • L.C. Schäfer11 months ago

    I was not expecting those wheels!

  • Mackenzie Davis11 months ago

    Ooh I like the twist (also, how cool would that be??). “Afterwards, I pay for dinner” is stuck in my head. What a good representation of a transactional series of dates; I feel for the speaker here.

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    Oi! One seater. Hahahahahahah..Very well played Lorne. I love it.

  • Clyde E. Dawkins11 months ago

    LOL very cool story!! Here's my Word Hunt entry! https://vocal.media/fiction/a-vicious-vendetta

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    Hehe!! I was wondering how you were going to twist this! Loved the creativity and the visual to go with it!!

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Lol. Well played.

  • Leslie Writes11 months ago

    🤣 Nice! Congrats on getting to all 40 🎉

  • A true classic! Well done!

  • KJ Aartila11 months ago

    Lol! Good one. 😁

  • Thavien Yliaster11 months ago

    That's not vintage! That's classic! Naysayers gonna naysay.

  • Alina Z12 months ago

    Nice punch-image! Very creative!

  • C. H. Richard12 months ago

    Nice take on the challenge ❤️

  • Lol, was not expecting that! Also, Congratulations on your 40th! What you did wasn't an easy feat but you did it! I hope you're proud of yourself because I definitely am!

  • Stephanie Hoogstad12 months ago

    You have to watch out for those technicalities; they’ll get you every time. Excellent job as always.

  • Ah, you've raised the province of speed dating to new heights!

  • Dana Stewart12 months ago

    Haha, good one!

  • JBaz12 months ago

    Ha ha, nice . Your Almost finished the micro, keep on writing

  • Gina C.12 months ago

    LOL! I love your humor and wit 🤗 Another great one!

  • Gerald Holmes12 months ago

    Love it. Well done.

  • Dana Crandell12 months ago

    🤣

  • Mariann Carroll12 months ago

    🤣😂🤣🤣🤣

  • Very funny!!! Congratulations for accomplishing your feat...!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.