Fiction logo

Vibrations

You have one (1) new message

By Etched in InkPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1

Ding~

Another message. I’m too tired to open it though. Answering asks too much of me.

“How was your day?” Boring.

“Did you see the news?” Yes, unfortunately.

“Do you want to meet up for dinner?” Nope.

“Hey man, you good?” Not in the slightest.

So instead I splay out like a starfish on the bed, leaving the phone to buzz incessantly on my stomach. The vibrations knock out a strange thought or two—like what if I got enough notifications that my phone managed to drill through flesh and bone, making a hole through my midsection like one of those Mortal Kombat death scenes.

Can you imagine? Me, draped unceremoniously across the mattress, mouth agape, while blood and fleshy fragments stain the sheets. Limp limbs hanging over the edge of the bed, moving only ever so often in time with the vibrating of the phone. Ivory shards swimming in the scarlet ichor pooling beneath my corpse, the larger pieces embedding themselves in the mattress.

It’s a pretty enough image, if you’re into that sort of thing. Almost pretty enough to-

Ding~

Oh for Christ’s sake, I better get that.

Short StoryHorror
1

About the Creator

Etched in Ink

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.