Fiction logo

Uptown Barn

old barn, new troubles

By Rebecca HackneyPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like

Maddie looked at the old barn. The paint faded long ago and some of the boards needed replacing however the foundation was solid. Growing up this was the place to be on the weekends, it was party central, from cookouts and picnics to barn dances and late night karaoke parties it was fun. Looking at the old run down barn now it was hard to believe such fun times were ever had here. Maddie’s goal was to change all that, she wanted to bring back the good times, the fun times. It would keep the kids out of trouble and bring the town together again. She worked hard to get this barn; hopefully the town will help her get it back to its previous condition.

Maddie grabbed her notebook and started walking around making notes on what needs to be done. She went into one of the stalls and noticed a hidden door, like a trapdoor, on the floor. Weird she thought, she didn’t remember that being there; then again it has been a few years. She decided to check it out when she got back from the hardware store, the sooner she got the supplies the quicker she could get this barn fixed.

“Maddie is that you? I haven’t seen ya in a while, how have you been?” The hardware store owner, Mr. Ken, said as Maddie walked through the door.

“Hey Mr. Ken. I have been good, just need some stuff so I can fix the old barn.” She replied while grabbing a shopping cart.

“Oh I heard you bought it up, didn’t know you were gonna be fixin it up though. Figured you would just tear it down and build something else.”

“Yes sir I plan on fixing it. I want to start hosting parties and stuff again like when I was younger.”

“Uh, that sounds like a good idea. Just gotta watch out for those land grabbers, they will do anything to get that barn torn down and land cleared for another fancy building.”

“Oh yeah I already ran into them. They tried to buy it off of me, but I wouldn’t let them. Do you have any red paint?”

“No, but I can order some. Do you need any help fixin it up? My grandson, Chase, is a handyman and could help ya if ya need it.” He said while getting out the paint catalog.

“I would love the help! Thank you… Wait is it the same Chase from school?”

“Sure is! You two where thick as thieves, I’m sure he will more than glad to help ya. I’ll give him a call and tell him to meet you over at the barn.”

Supplies bought and the paint ordered Maddie loaded up her truck and headed to the diner. It was lunch time and a little busy so Maddie decided to get her order to go so she walked to the counter and ordered.

“Welcome to the diner. Is this eat in or to go? The special today is… Maddie! It’s you, you’re here!” The hostess said coming around the podium to give Maddie a hug. “It has been too long. Are you here for a while or just visiting, speaking of visiting we need to catch up while you are here. Oh shoot I’m babbling, I just missed you so much.”

“I’ve missed you too Emily and I’m actually here to stay. I’m taking over Nana’s business and I’m working on the old barn.” Maddie said hugging Emily back wondering why everyone was acting like she been gone a long time. It had only been three years.

“I did hear that, just thought it was wishful town gossip. So glad to hear you are back! So what can I get for you today?”

Maddie picked up her food order and made plans to get together with Emily soon then she headed out to start working on the barn. When she arrived another truck was already there, must be Chase she thought. Sure enough it was and he was already inside inspecting the boards.

“Hey Chase, just got done talking to your sister, she told me to bring you some lunch.” Maddie said giving Chase the bag Emily sent with her.

“Well the rumors are true, you are back. Grampa said some pretty little lady needed my help but I didn’t know it was going to be you. Sure glad I did come out.” He said taking the food and giving Maddie a hug all at once.

“Haha oh yeah? Well thanks for the help! I’m starving shall we eat then get started?”

They opened the tailgate of Chase’s truck and sat down to eat their lunch. Once finished Maddie went over what she believed they should do first which was to take down the old boards and replace them. Chase agreed and he got started while Maddie went to check out the trapdoor.

It looked like it had been there since the barn. It was covered with dirt though so she got a broom and swept it. Once it was cleaned she went to open it but Chase stopped her by standing on it.

“What are you doing? You don’t know what is down there.” He said.

“It’s probably just a storm cellar or maybe it’s a wine cellar.” She said chuckling and slightly nudging him off the door.

They opened it together and were shocked with what they found inside, it looked like some kind of poison, cases of it were piled down below. Before they could investigate further they heard someone pull up. Chase closed it and went to check out who was there while Maddie tried to cover the door.

Chase walked out the barn and immediately dropped down to the ground then crawled back into the barn. It was the land company men and they had weapons aimed towards the barn, must be there stash of poison Chase thought. The barn door was no longer there so it was just a big opening, no where to hid behind. Chase had to get to Maddie to warn her and get her to safety while also getting a hold of the police.

“Come on out and we won’t hurt you,” The man said, “We just want what is ours.”

“Psst! Chase, up here!” Chased looked up and saw Maddie on the barn loft.

“How did you get up there? Is it even safe?”

“Safer than being down there and shot, come on we can sneak out the window and call for help.”

Chase climbed up and followed her; surprisingly the loft was sturdy. The window was far off the ground but it happened to be next to a tree and they could use it to climb down, just like when they were kids. Once on the ground they circled around the barn and saw the men still standing out front. Perfect Maddie thought, they could sneak away and call the cops. Good thing she took pictures of everything before she climbed up the loft. Chase took out his phone and texted his brother in law, who happened to be the Sheriff.

“They will be here soon, he said to stay put and out of sight.” Chase told Maddie.

Fifteen minutes later the Sheriff and his team showed up. They arrested the men and with the photos and evidence provided by Maddie, the men were in serious trouble.

“Thanks for coming so fast.” Maddie said.

“Of course, these men have been nothing but trouble. Glad we can get rid of them. Plus turns out the poison they have been storing here was the same kind used to poison the farmers’ crops this year, making them sell their land.” Sheriff John said.

“Well at least that is solved too. So when can I get back to working on the barn?” Maddie asked.

“Soon. We have to take the containers out, make sure none got spilled in there. Then we should be able to get back to work.”

“Ok, wait did you say we? Are you going to help me John?”

“Of course, Emily told me all about it and basically told me I had to help. I figure more people are going to come out and help too now that the land grabbers are gone. Everyone remembers the barn and the good times that were held here, it will be nice to see it build back up.”

A few days later John declared the barn clean and clear to work on. Just like he said towns folk showed up to help fix it up and soon they were able to have a barn dance.

“So I’ve been meaning to ask you…” Chase started to say.

“Yes I will save you a dance.” Maddie said.

“No not that.. Well I mean yes I want to dance with you but what I was going to ask was where did you go and why didn’t you say goodbye.”

“Oh.. That.. Well I went and got my business degree so that I could better run Nana’s place because I knew she was going to hand it over to me. I wanted to make sure I could keep it going, plus I got a culinary degree to amp the place up. As for not saying goodbye, I tried but you were already gone. Besides it was only three years, but I did miss you a lot.”

“I missed you too. More than I care to admit.” He said blushing. “So save me a dance?”

“Only you Chase, only you.”

Young Adult
Like

About the Creator

Rebecca Hackney

Love writing and taking readers on a journey.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.