Fiction logo

Unwanted Connection

The burden of emotional bonds.

By Bree BeadmanPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
1
Unwanted Connection
Photo by Brock DuPont on Unsplash

Though living by the hospitality of strangers is often a necessity, a means of survival, no one can be trusted for too long. Sooner or later, they all show their hand. That’s why it’s important to remember one universal truth -trust is for the weak, and I am not weak.

One of the benefits of growing up on the streets is you learn this young. Enjoy the meals, the gifts and the kind words of those who deem to shelter you as their shiny new toy, but never stay too long. Feelings are the fastest path to failure.

I know this beyond all doubt, so why do I falter at the finish line? This is the score of a lifetime and it was planned to perfection: the chance meeting, the infiltration, the private location, the access codes…even lacing the drinks. The artifacts are packed. It’s time to go, but there they lay, tugging at my heartstrings as one final obstacle.

Such a tight-knit group, those slumbering fools. I’ll never forgive their purest of efforts to welcome me in; to convince me I belong. I gave them the power to hurt me and now must endure my first heartbreak.

Farewell friends.

Microfiction
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.