Fiction logo

unsolved mystery

footprints in the snow

By Juanita PearcePublished 3 months ago 1 min read
1

Unsolved Mystery

Foot steps in the snow

I walk. The last time I went through the wooded lot, up the hill, to bolder point I was surprised by large footprints in the snow. A prank for sure.

The tracks only headed down. Had to have come one of the cabins up there. To expose the pranksters would be easy enough.

Then the prints stopped. I scanned the path in front of me. There weren't any other tracks - nothing. Looking back there were my tracks headed up, large barefoot prints headed down. The hair on the back of my neck stood on end. Nervously kneeling down I examined the prints closer.

Larger than normal. The front part of the foot showed more pressure the the heal. Someone was running.

Then inside my head - the only way I can explain it - “Help, they're after me! I have to jump again!” Strange to hear in your mind but not your ears. Then with my ears I heard a yell? howl? screeching. I'll never forget it.

Down the hill the prints had turned 45 degree to the left. I followed them into the thick underbrush. Then, no more prints.

I headed home. I no longer used that trail. Some people talk about other dimensions, big foot, worm holes, ghosts, spirit orbs, etc. I just don’t know. I use to think all those were hog wash but now I am not so sure. For an old cop like me…….I just don’t know.

MicrofictionMysteryFantasyFable
1

About the Creator

Juanita Pearce

Mystic old woman in Alaska

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 3 months ago

    Nice! And I love the mystery! Ghosts!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.