Fiction logo

Unlikely Companion

Deep Dive.

By Kelly DearyPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Like
Unlikely Companion
Photo by Jakob Owens on Unsplash

Day 1;

My name is Rayna Morgan, I'm 17 years old. I'm writing this from inside an emergency life raft somewhere in the middle of the ocean. I've been floating around for about four days now but I wanted to start at the beginning.

We were starting our vacation, My Parents, My baby brother Emmette and me. We were flying to some super-secret place they promised we would never forget. They were right about that part, I will never forget.

I do have to admit I was pretty excited, even though I pretended not to be. I was not nearly as excited about it as Emmette but he’s five, he gets just as excited about going to the park …

… Was five … Emmette was five ….

Day 2;

I had to stop yesterday. Thinking about my family … about Emmette … I saw ….

Let me get you caught up before I let my memory overtake me again.

Mom and Dad were napping, I was trying to read but Emmette who was sitting in front of me with Dad kept leaning over his seat telling me about all the things he was going to do once we reached the hotel.

“We don't know where we are going Em, how do you know you will be able to do all that?” I asked him

He crossed his arms over the back of the seat and rested his chin on them in a bit of a pout, “I don't know but I hope.” he said grinning again.

That's when the sound came, an unbelievably loud crack followed by an equally as loud bang. Flames erupted outside my window. The air masks dropped from the ceiling and people began to scream.

Then … Then Emmette and Dad were falling. I can still see the terror in his chubby little face as he stretched his arms out and called my name.

I wasn' thinking, just reacting. If I could just lean forward a little more I could grab him... I could save him! Mom stopped me from undoing my seat belt and I was forced to watch him fall from the sky below me ...

Day 2 P.M.

I needed a break from remembering and I had to throw my food scraps to Norman. Cleaning the raft reminds me of Mom and how she always nagged me to clean my room. I wish she was here to nag me now.

I don't remember much after that. I must have passed out or something. The next thing I remember is waking up in the raft to screams and splashing water. I looked out the door. I wish I hadn't. I wish I had stayed unconscious for this part. Every Detail, every scream, every cry, every expression of pure terror and pain is burned into my memory.

The water around the wreckage was filled with injured people trying to get out of the water and sharks, hundreds of them. As I watched people would get yanked under the water and not resurface. The people close by would scream and splash as they tried to swim to the raft or climb on a piece of the plane only to be the next to be pulled under the water. The water was dark red with the blood being spilled into it. A heavy smell of copper hung in the air. I could almost taste it myself.

There was one man, he had to be in his late fifties with a shaved head. He held a young girl, she seemed to be unconscious. His arm was wrapped around her chest under her arms as he swam. Moving as slow as possible, making the least amount of noise he could, moving the water slowly so it didn't splash.

I leaned out the opening ready to grab the girl he carried but she woke up looked around and began to scream and fight against him. I could see him try to calm her but it was too late. She was yanked out of his arm and pulled under the water.

I jumped to my feet and began searching for he paddles I knew must be here.

The raft was huge and heavy, I was the only one in it so I had a hard time getting it to move. I was so focused on getting to the survivors that I didn't notice the silence right away. I stopped paddling and listened … It was frightening, the lack of sound that chilled me to my bones. The frenzy was over and the sharks were gone but the people sounds had stopped as well. It was unnerving.

“Hello!” I yelled, “Please someone talk to me!” No one answered… they were all dead.

A sudden single wave dislodged a bundle wrapped in a tarp. I watched half a dozen bodies rise to the surface, the current carried them past me on the raft. Unwillingly I lowered my head and looked into a sweet chubby face that I recognized right away.

I saw it approach from the corner of my eye, a huge shark, It had to be at least 20 feet long, it was scared and scratched like an old warhorse with a perfectly round hole the size of a quarter in its dorsal fin. He snatched the body from me. I yelled and cursed and was ready to jump in after it … but I heard my Mom’s voice in my head “You can't help him”

Day 3;

So much death, so many bodies, Little Em… My brain shut down for a while. I couldn't take anymore.

I began collecting the luggage I found floating on the water. I kept what I thought would be useful and threw the rest back. Mostly clothes and blankets, books that were dry enough to read, this journal, and a pen set. I kept all the electronics that had a full charge. I figured at the very least I could entertain myself by looking at their pictures and reading their texts. I stored the things I gathered in the waterproof side pockets of the raft.

I was lucky enough to find some really useful things in a part of the plane that was still floating and dry. Two twelve-packs of bottled water. I almost didn't grab them, thinking I would be rescued soon anyway but the mom in my head said it was better to be safe than sorry, So I grabbed them. I also grabbed a box that was plastic wrapped. I didn't know what it was but figured if it wasn't useful I could throw it away later. I was reaching for some juice when something bumped the boat. I almost fell overboard. Before I could right myself there was another bump and I fell over into the ice-cold water. It took my breath away.

I was hanging on the edge of the raft trying to catch my breath when I noticed a huge dorsal fin with a perfectly round hole in the middle of it disappearing under the water on the other side of the boat. I was so scared I couldn't think, I kicked and jumped and tried to pull myself back into the boat. Then my foot hit something hard and without thought, I used it to push myself up and into the raft. Breathless and shivering I turned in time to see the monstrous shark swimming fast right at my boat… I braced myself for the attack.

There was no attack. I waited but it didn't come. Instead, he pushed me out to sea. Was he playing? Did sharks play? Was he saving me for later? I watched the wreckage getting farther away. I wondered how the rescuers would find me now.

Now I haven't been alone long enough to believe that Norman was trying to save me but save me he did.

I knew it when I started to hear a hissing sound, parts of the

plane were engulfed in flames. I knew what that meant. I quickly sealed the raft and waited.

The force of the explosion sent my raft tumbling across the water. I had forgotten to put away the cases of water so they tumbled with me, hitting me every chance they got. I was sure I would end up with a broken something by the time it was all done.

Luckily I stopped upright with no rips tears or holes. I did end up with a huge gash on one of my legs but no broken bones. I opened the canopy and threw up.

Day 4 / 5;

I think you're pretty much caught up now. Not much has happened since the explosion. The plastic-wrapped box held premade meals for the passengers, fancy ones. I tried one, I’m sure they would taste better hot but they weren't bad.

I haven't seen any rescue planes or boats. Am I too far from the wreckage now? Are they searching in the wrong spot? Maybe they have just assumed everyone is dead and aren't bothering to search

Day 6;

Norman hasn't tried to get at me yet, he hasn't even nibbled the raft. He just keeps swimming around me. He wanders off now and again but always comes back. I wonder what his plan is?

Day 6 P.M.;

I tried another of the fancy meals, It was gross. I threw it to Norman. He seemed to like it.

I wish you were here to see what I see. The stars are so bright. The water is so clear I can watch the fish swimming around me. Something in the water is glowing. I just watched a whale jump out of the water and the glow followed it, sprinkling of his body like glitter. It's like watching a fantasy movie. I wish I had a camera…

WAIT! I do have a camera and a phone…. I'll be back hopefully with good news

Day 8;

I'm back. I missed a day, Sorry. I was hit by a rogue wave while I was sleeping. I lost a couple of the fancy meals and now it's wet in here but I'm ok. The wave pushed us quite a ways. Now I'm stuck inside a shark barrier with Norman. No, I'm not near shore, not a populated one anyway. Who in God’s name puts a shark barrier around a tiny island in the middle of the ocean? There is a beach but no room for a house… Why?

Day 9;

I'm so cranky right now! I thought I had it figured out. I could save myself! I kept four phones, one looked old kind of like a walkie-talkie… but I turned them all on hoping I could call someone... But there is no cell signal out here.

Day 10;

I watched some dolphins playing today while I ate. What will I do if no one finds me?

DAY 11;

Still no sign of anyone. It's just me and Norman. He seems to be doing okay despite being trapped. I bet he would prefer to be free. I know I would.

Day 12;

Well, we are still here, trapped on Tiny island. I thought about taking a walk on the land but My leg is infected and I'm having trouble standing up. I think I have a fever.

Day 12 P.M.;

I was cuddled up in the thermal blanket watching Norman when I began hearing a beeping noise. It was the walkie-talkie phone… It is a satellite Phone. I could have been saved days ago! They are coming for me, I'm going home!

It took a couple of days. I was beginning to believe the rescue call was all just a fever dream but the rescue boat arrived, they found me.

I'm sure they thought I was crazy, |I refused to leave until they freed Norman. I know for a fact that Norman would have had me for lunch if he had a chance but he had been my only friend for the past twelve days and I wouldn't leave him trapped to die alone. They reluctantly agreed and I watched him swim away from the deck of the boat.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.