Fiction logo

"Unipreme"

The feeling of experiencing something uniquely specific for the first and last time

By Sarah GlassPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
4
"Unipreme"
Photo by rosario janza on Unsplash

I knew the feeling when I kissed the man I was madly in love with for the first time. Though we've had many passionate kisses after that, it will never be the same as the first one.

You know the feeling too when you listen to the last album of your favorite music artist they release just before they pass away. Like with David Bowie.

You know the feeling when you open up that shoebox of your childhood memories after ten, fifteen, twenty years have passed. Like the old notes you passed in class, the Tamagachi and Gameboy, the cassette tape with the last cassette you ever recorded your voice on.

It isn't the nostalgia itself, but the feeling evoked from it by that particular moment with those specific items.

But the feeling does not always accompany excitement or happiness. There are times when the feeling is paired with sadness, grief, and/or anger.

You will experience it with each animal companion on their first and last day with you. You become increasingly aware of it as you stare into their glassy eyes and lift their weightless body.

We pause to let the feeling wash over us. We cannot stop it. So we let it wrap around us and sink us into its depths before it fades away like snow in the sun.

Short StoryMicrofictionLove
4

About the Creator

Sarah Glass

It started with FFX fanfiction stories and my love for creating a world to escape to when reality's teeth sank in too deep. I'm an artist, a dreamer, and I have an original story I've been working on for 8yrs. Time to get it published!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Zara Blume6 months ago

    I love the word and story that accompanies it. This was poetic and bittersweet. It made me think of how I feel the first time I finish a favorite book, because I cannot get that feeling back with rereads. This really should be a word, and it’s such a creative take on the challenge.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.