Fiction logo

Unforgettable Loss

My Wedding Ring Vanished Just Days After Saying 'I Do.

By Ameer BibiPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
12
Unforgettable Loss
Photo by Samantha Gades on Unsplash

My husband gave me a beautiful ring on our wedding day, which meant a lot to me. Even though I was not fond of any jewellery, this ring was unique. I always remember when he picked my hand and said, I bought it in a hurry.

I still remember the fancy design with beautiful pearls that made the ring special and stylish. I loved it and always wore it, except when I washed my hands before prayers or kneaded dough.

One day, returning from university, I noticed it was not on my finger during my pre-prayer cleansing routine. I searched everywhere, feeling like a part of my heart was missing. I asked everyone and put a Report of Lost Item on notice but had failed to succeed. Losing my unique ring just 15 days after the wedding was terrible; it was priceless for me.

As a newlywed bride, that ring was part of my marriage, and losing it was tough. I couldn’t help but think a lot about how it had been lost, where I could drop it, because there were only two times a day when I did not wear it. I searched it in all corners of the kitchen and washrooms.

I desperately discussed it with my husband, and though I was a little afraid that he would get angry, he offered his silent support. Nineteen years have passed, yet the memory of that unique ring lingers, and I am still looking for a ring just like the one with the same design, hoping to fill the gap it left behind in my heart.

Thanks for reading.

Initially published by the author on Medium.

familyShort StoryMysteryLove
12

About the Creator

Ameer Bibi

I love to read, write, and discuss life, health, fiction, and humour. If you write anything related to these topics, subscribe to me and share your story; I would love to read it and share my opinion. You can find me on Medium.

With Thanks

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Guzel19 days ago

    Oh! Feeling so sad for you...

  • Asad Message2 months ago

    Great memories

  • muniba shafiq2 months ago

    It's very sad. I think you're husband can give you new ring on your birthday or wedding anniversary.🤭

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.